Honorary Degree Information

The University of Dayton recognizes and honors individuals of extraordinary achievement or leadership, distinguished service, or exemplary character by awarding honorary doctorate degrees appropriate to their accomplishments. The University uses such occasions to make a public statement about its mission, aspirations and institutional values.

The University awards honorary degrees:

  • To acknowledge a selfless spirit of service in an individual who makes significant and tangible contributions to the community, the University of Dayton, the Miami Valley, the Church or the world.
  • To recognize an individual's superior leadership or achievement.
  • To publicly honor an individual of exemplary character who works to promote the common good and human flourishing.


Recipients of honorary degrees must exemplify the Catholic and Marianist traditions and the values of the University. They also must manifest a significant association with the University or its mission. The University uses the bestowing of honorary degrees to demonstrate and reinforce the importance of taking an active role in community leadership and service.

Honorary degrees are awarded typically at major university events and ceremonies, including convocations, symposia, public lectures and commencements.

See Past Recipients of Honorary Degrees (.pdf) >> 


Nominations for honorary degrees are accepted and considered twice a year. The nomination deadlines for the Spring and Fall semesters are February 15 and October 15, respectively.

Nominate an Honorary Degree Recipient >>

Questions regarding honorary degrees should be directed to the University of Dayton Honorary Degree Committee co-chairs:

Jack O'Gorman E-Mail Jack O'Gorman >>

Shauna M. Adams, Ed.D. Email Shauna M. Adams, Ed.D. >>

Degrees Awarded

The honorary degrees granted at the University of Dayton include:

Doctor of Business Administration
Doctor of Divinity
Doctor of Education
Doctor of Engineering
Doctor of Fine Arts
Doctor of Humane Letters
Doctor of Humanities
Doctor of Laws
Doctor of Letters
Doctor of Music
Doctor of Philosophy
Doctor of Science
Doctor of Theology