group around Chaminade statue

2013-2014 Academic Calendar

The University of Dayton publishes its academic calendar on an annual basis so our community can plan ahead.

However, please note that future event dates are subject to change.  

Fall Semester 2013

Mon, Aug 5 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Fri, Aug 16 New Faculty Orientation
Sat-Tue, Aug 17-20 New Student Orientation
Sat, Aug 17 First Year Student Move-In for Fall Term
Sun, Aug 18 Upperclass Student Move-In for Fall Term
Tue, Aug 20 New Student Convocation
Tue, Aug 20 Last day to complete registration
Wed, Aug 21 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Aug 27 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, Sep 2 Labor Day--no classes
Fri, Sep 6 Faculty Meeting (Boll Theatre) at 3:00 p.m.
Tue, Sep 10 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades
Wed, Sep 11 Last day to drop classes without record
Fri, Sep 27 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Fri-Sun, Sep 27-29 Family Weekend 2013
Wed, Oct 9 Mid-Term Break begins after last class
Mon, Oct 14 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Oct 15 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for December 2013 graduation
Wed, Oct 16 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 4:00 p.m.
Fri, Oct 18 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Fri, Nov 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for May 2014 graduation
Mon, Nov 4 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Fri, Nov 15 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Tue, Nov 26 Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Sat, Nov 30 Saturday classes meet
Mon, Dec 2 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Thu, Dec 5 Last day of classes
Fri, Dec 6 Feast of the Immaculate Conception/Christmas on Campus--no classes
Sat, Dec 7 Study Day
Sun, Dec 8 Study Day
Mon-Fri, Dec 9-13 Exams--Fall Term ends after final examinations
Fri, Dec 13 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Fri, Dec 13 University Housing closes for Christmas Break at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, Dec 14 Diploma Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, Dec 17 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Dec 19 Grades posted
Tue, Jan 21 Last day to change Fall Term grades

Christmas Break

Sun, Dec 15 Christmas Break begins
Sun, Jan 12 Christmas Break ends

Spring Semester 2014

Fri, Jan 10 Last day to complete registration
Sun, Jan 12 University Housing reopens for Spring Term at 8:00 a.m.
Mon, Jan 13 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Fri, Jan 17 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Fri, Jan 17 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Mon, Jan 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day--no classes
Tue, Jan 21 Last day to change Fall Term grades
Sat, Feb 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for May 2014 graduation
Mon, Feb 3 Last day to drop classes without record
Fri, Feb 7 Joint Senate/Faculty Meeting (Boll Theatre) at 3:00 p.m.
Fri, Feb 14 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Wed, Mar 5 Mid-Term Break begins after last class 
Mon, Mar 10 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Wed, Mar 12 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 4:00 p.m.
Fri, Mar 14 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Sat, Mar 15 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for August 2014 graduation
Tue, Apr 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for December 2014 graduation
Wed, Apr 2 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Wed, Apr 9 Bro. Joseph W. Stander Symposium-Alternate Day of Learning
Wed, Apr 16 Easter Recess begins after last class
Mon, Apr 21 Easter Monday--no day classes--classes resume at 4:30 p.m.
Fri, Apr 25 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom) from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Fri, Apr 25 Last day of classes
Sat, Apr 26 Study Day
Sun, Apr 27 Study Day
Mon-Fri, Apr 28-May 2 Exams--Spring Term ends after final examinations
Fri, May 2 University Housing closes for Spring Term at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, May 3 Doctoral/Graduate Commencement Exercises at 12:45 p.m.
Sun, May 4 Undergraduate Commencement Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, May 6 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, May 8 Grades posted
Mon, Jun 9 Last day to change Spring Term grades

Summer Semester 2014 - First Session

Fri, May 9 Last day to complete registration
Fri, May 9 Faculty Meeting (Boll Theatre) at 3:00 p.m.
Sat, May 10 Saturday classes begin
Mon, May 12 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, May 13 Last day for late Summer Term-First Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Thu, May 15 Last day for late full Summer Term registration, change of grading options and schedules
Wed, May 21 Last day to drop without record from First Session classes
Mon, May 26 Memorial Day--no classes
Mon, Jun 9 Last day to drop with record of W from First Session classes
Mon, Jun 9 Last day to change Spring Term grades
Fri-Sat, Jun 20-21 Exams--full Summer Term classes do not meet
Fri-Sat, Jun 20-21 First Session ends after final examinations
Tue, Jun 24 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Jun 26 Grades posted
Tue, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2014 graduation
Wed, Jul 2 Last day to drop without record from full Summer Term classes
Tue, Jul 29 Last day to change First Session grades

Summer Semester 2014 - Second Session

Fri, Jun 20 Last day to complete registration
Sat, Jun 21 Saturday classes begin
Mon, Jun 23 Second Session classes begin
Tue, Jun 24 Last day for late Summer Term-Second Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Tue, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2014 graduation
Wed, Jul 2 Last day to drop without record from Second Session and full Summer Term classes
Fri, Jul 4 Independence Day--no classes
Mon, Jul 14 Last day to drop with record of W from Second Session and full Summer Term classes
Tue, Jul 29 Last day to change First Session grades
Fri-Sat, Aug 1-2 Exams--Second Session and full Summer Term end after final examinations
Mon, Aug 4 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Tue, Aug 5 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Aug 7 Grades posted
Tue, Sep 9 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades

Note from the University Calendar Committee

The dates of all Academic Senate and General Faculty meetings will be posted to the calendar when they are determined.

Please consult the Human Resources Holiday Schedule for university office closings.

The university strives to have the best educational experience possible and is constantly looking at ways to improve the learning environment. We would appreciate any constructive feedback regarding changes, adjustments, etc. to the current and future calendars. The feedback will be reviewed and used by the University Calendar Committee when determining future calendars. Please send all comments to calendar@udayton.edu. Thank you.

August 8, 2013