group around Chaminade statue

2015-2016 Preliminary Academic Calendar

The University of Dayton publishes its academic calendar on an annual basis so our community can plan ahead.

However, please note that future event dates are subject to change.  

Fall Semester 2015

Mon, Aug 3 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
TBD New Graduate Assistant Orientation
Thu, Aug 20 New Faculty Orientation
Sat, Aug 22 Incoming First Year students move into UD Housing
Sat-Tue, Aug 22-25 New Student Orientation
Sun, Aug 23 Upperclass Student move into UD Housing
Tue, Aug 25 New Student Convocation
Tue, Aug 25 Last day to complete registration
Wed, Aug 26 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Sep 1 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, Sep 7 Labor Day--no classes
Tue, Sep 8 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades
Wed, Sep 16 Last day to drop classes without record
TBD Family Weekend
Wed, Oct 7 Mid-Term Break begins after last class
Mon, Oct 12 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Thu, Oct 15 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for December 2015 graduation
Wed, Oct 21 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 4:00 p.m.
Sun, Nov 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for May 2016 graduation
Mon, Nov 16 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Tue, Nov 24 Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Sat, Nov 28 Saturday classes meet
Mon, Nov 30 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Dec 8 Feast of the Immaculate Conception/Christmas on Campus--no classes
Fri, Dec 11 Last day of classes
Sat, Dec 12 Study Day
Sun, Dec 13 Study Day
Mon-Fri, Dec 14-18 Exams--Fall Term ends after final examinations
Fri, Dec 18 University Housing closes for Christmas Break at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, Dec 19 Diploma Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, Dec 22 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Wed, Dec 23 Grades posted
Mon, Jan 25 Last day to change Fall Term grades

Christmas Break

Sun, Dec 20 Christmas Break begins
Sun, Jan 18 Christmas Break ends

Spring Semester 2016

Fri, Jan 15 Last day to complete registration
Sun, Jan 17 University Housing reopens for Spring Term at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Jan 19 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Mon, Jan 25 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, Jan 25 Last day to change Fall Term grades
Mon, Feb 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for May 2016 graduation
Mon, Feb 8 Last day to drop classes without record
Wed, Feb 24 Spring Break begins after last class 
Thu, Feb 25 Thursday only Graduate classes meet
Mon, Feb 29 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, Mar 15 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for August 2016 graduation
Wed, Mar 16 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 4:00 p.m.
Wed, Mar 23 Easter Recess begins after last class
Mon, Mar 28 Easter Monday--no day classes--classes resume at 4:30 p.m.
Fri, Apr 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for December 2016 graduation
Mon, Apr 11 Last day to drop classes with record of W
TBD Bro. Joseph W. Stander Symposium-Alternate Day of Learning
Fri, Apr 29 Last day of classes
Sat, Apr 30 Study Day
Sun, May 1 Study Day
Mon-Fri, May 2- May 6 Exams--Spring Term ends after final examinations
Fri, May 6 University Housing closes for Spring Term at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, May 7 Doctoral/Graduate Commencement Exercises at 12:45 p.m.
Sun, May 8 Undergraduate Commencement Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, May 10 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, May 12 Grades posted
Mon, Jun 13 Last day to change Spring Term grades

Summer Semester 2016 - First Session

Fri, May 13 Last day to complete registration
Sat, May 14 Saturday classes begin
Mon, May 16 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, May 17 Last day for late Summer Term-First Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Thu, May 19 Last day for late full Summer Term registration, change of grading options and schedules
Wed, May 25 Last day to drop without record from First Session classes
Mon, Jun 6 Last day to drop without record from full Summer Term classes
Mon, May 30 Memorial Day--no classes
Mon, Jun 13 Last day to drop with record of W from First Session classes
Mon, Jun 13 Last day to change Spring Term grades
Fri-Sat, Jun 24-25 Exams--full Summer Term classes do not meet
Fri-Sat, Jun 24-25 First Session ends after final examinations
Tue, Jun 28 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Jun 30 Grades posted
Tue, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2016 graduation
Thu, Jul 28 Last day to change First Session grades

Summer Semester 2016 - Second Session

Fri, Jun 24 Last day to complete registration
Sat, Jun 25 Saturday classes begin
Mon, Jun 27 Second Session classes begin
Tue, Jun 28 Last day for late Summer Term-Second Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Fri, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2016 graduation
Mon, Jul 4 Independence Day--no classes
Thu, Jul 7 Last day to drop without record from Second Session classes
Mon, Jul 18 Last day to drop with record of W from Second Session and full Summer Term classes
Thu, Jul 28 Last day to change First Session grades
Fri-Sat, Aug 5-6 Exams--Second Session and full Summer Term end after final examinations
Mon, Aug 8 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Tue, Aug 9 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Aug 11 Grades posted
Mon, Sep 12 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades

Note from the University Calendar Committee

The dates of all Academic Senate and General Faculty meetings will be posted to the calendar when they are determined.

Please consult the Human Resources Holiday Schedule for university office closings.

The university strives to have the best educational experience possible and is constantly looking at ways to improve the learning environment. We would appreciate any constructive feedback regarding changes, adjustments, etc. to the current and future calendars. The feedback will be reviewed and used by the University Calendar Committee when determining future calendars. Please send all comments to calendar@udayton.edu. Thank you.

July 10, 2014