About the Faculty Award in Scholarship

The annual Faculty Award in Scholarship is supported by funds provided by the UD Alumni Association, in order to honor excellence in scholarship. The Faculty Awards Committee selects the ranked faculty member who has distinguished himself or herself in scholarship while at the University of Dayton. Two or more faculty members may be nominated as a team or may submit a joint application if they have produced collaborative work. In addition, the Committee may select co-recipients.

The recipient of the Award receives $3,000, funded by the Alumni Association. If two or more faculty members win as a team, all will share equally in the Award and the $3,000 will be divided between them. In addition, the individual or team selected receives University recognition and may be invited to make a public presentation at appropriate University ceremonies and forums, conduct a seminar, speak with alumni groups, and so forth.

Nomination materials for the 2014 award is due by 5 p.m. on Friday, January 24, 2014.

Composition of Review Committee

Committee membership consists of one faculty member from each of the Professional Schools (including Law), one faculty member from the University Libraries plus two faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences, a representative from Advancement, and two students selected from the University Honors Program. In order to insure consistency and promote quality in the selection process, Committee members serve for a term of three years, with staggering terms, with the exception of the students, who may serve from one to two years. Award recipients are most likely to be asked to serve as members of the committee at some point subsequent to their award, though this is not a prerequisite to faculty membership on the committee.

This year the Faculty Awards Committee, appointed by the Provost, consists of Co-Chairs Carolyn Ridenour (Educational Leadership) and Mike Gorman (MIS, Operations Management and Decision Sciences); Roger Crum (Visual Arts), Said Elhamri (Physics), Charles Hallinan (Law), Kevin Hallinan (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), Fred Jenkins (University Libraries), Chad Warren (Advancement), and students Andrew Steffensmeier (Pre-Med major), and Molly Winslow (Sociology major).

Selection Criteria

The Committee selects from among the nominees the faculty member or members who, in its judgment, have made the most significant contribution to the scholarly life and prestige of the University. The contribution must be personal – i.e., it must be made by an individual or an individual team – and it must be scholarly in nature (including artistic production and/or performance), and it must be accomplished while here at UD. The Award may be given in recognition of significant productivity in the current academic year or in recognition of a consistent high level of personal scholarly activity. The Award can be given for a single outstanding scholarly/artistic achievement or for a combination of notable achievements; special consideration will be given to more recent achievements (e.g., during the past three to five years). Emphasis will be placed on selecting individuals who enhance the reputation of the award.

Among the specific contributions meriting the attention of the Committee would be the following:

a. The publication of a book, a monograph, or other significant and referred publications in a learned or professional journal.
b. The delivery of a scholarly lecture or series of lectures.
c. The completion of a significant research project that has regional, national, or international impact.
d. Participation in a conversation, conference, or workshop program in a significant role such as speaker, consultant, or discussion leader.
e. Election to office in a learned or professional society, or other special recognition by such an organization.
f. Artistic accomplishments may include, but are not limited to, the creation of art objects, musical compositions, exhibitions of artwork, performances, directorial work, and professional work in the mass media.

Selection can be based on one or more of these categories. Award recipients traditionally have had accomplishments in more than one category.

Procedures for Nomination/Application

Nomination Process:

1. All applications must be submitted to the respective Dean’s Office, not directly to the Faculty Awards Committee, for approval. Check with your Dean’s Office for internal deadlines and guidelines for approval and signature, as those deadlines may be well in advance of the final deadline. Nominations may typically come from people who are most familiar with faculty work, such as department chairs and/or colleagues; self-nominations are also acceptable.

2. Self-nominations must be submitted, like all applications, to the respective Dean’s Office, not directly to the Faculty Awards Committee. If you plan to self-nominate, please contact your Dean early to let her or him know of your plans and learn of your Dean’s office’s internal deadlines and guidelines for approval and signature.

3. There is no limit on the number of applications an academic unit can submit to the Faculty Awards Committee. Nominees can, if they wish, remain under consideration for three consecutive years.

4. Applicants will remain in the pool of candidates for a period of three consecutive years from the time of first application, and will be invited (though not required) to update their materials should they choose to be re-considered for the awards.

5. Once a person receives the Award, she or he is not eligible to apply again for the same award in subsequent years.

6. The various deans will send all nomination materials to Patty Lamb, Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center, +1302, ext. 94898, no later than 5:00 p.m., Friday, January 24, 2014. Nominations and supporting materials received after that date cannot be accepted. Any questions may be directed to Co-Chairs Dr. Carolyn Ridenour or Dr. Mike Gorman.

Nomination Pool: Applicants will remain in the pool of candidates for a period of three consecutive years, and will be invited to update their materials should they choose to stay in contention for the awards.