About the Faculty Award in Teaching

The annual Faculty Award in Teaching is supported by funds provided by the UD Alumni Association, in order to honor excellence in teaching. The Faculty Awards Committee selects the ranked faculty member who has distinguished himself or herself in at least three terms of classroom teaching. Two or more faculty or a faculty member plus additional members of the instructional staff may be nominated as a team or may submit a joint application if they engage in team teaching or other collaborative teaching activities. Persons eligible to apply for teaching awards are those under full-time contract with the University whose efforts are predominantly devoted to classroom instruction.

The recipient of the Award receives $3,000, funded by the Alumni Association. If two or more faculty members win as a team, all will share equally in the Award and the $3,000. In addition, the individual or team selected receives University recognition and may be invited to make a public presentation at appropriate University ceremonies and forums, conduct a seminar, speak with alumni groups, and so forth.

Nomination materials for the 2014 award is due by 5 p.m. on Friday, January 24, 2014.

Composition of Review Committee

Committee membership consists of one faculty member from each of the Professional Schools, one faculty member from the University Libraries plus two faculty members from the College of Arts and Sciences, a representative from Advancement, and two students selected from the University Honors Program. In order to insure consistency and promote quality in the selection process, Committee members serve for a term of three years, with staggering terms, with the exception of the students, who may serve from one to two years. Award recipients are most likely to be asked to serve as members of the committee at some point subsequent to their award, though membership in the Academy of Teaching and Research is not a prerequisite to faculty membership on the committee.

This year the Faculty Awards Committee, appointed by the Provost, consists of Co-Chairs Carolyn Ridenour (Educational Leadership) and Mike Gorman (MIS, Operations Management and Decision Sciences); Roger Crum (Visual Arts), Said Elhamri (Physics), Charles Hallinan (Law), Kevin Hallinan (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), Fred Jenkins (University Libraries), Chad Warren (Advancement), and students Andrew Steffensmeier (Pre-Med major), and Molly Winslow (Sociology major).

Selection Criteria

The Committee selects from among the nominees, the faculty member or team who, in its judgment, has made the most significant contribution to classroom teaching at the University of Dayton and has given extraordinary service to students. In the process of identifying this individual or team, the University encourages recognition of other outstanding teachers. The Faculty Awards Committee selects from among the nominees, the one individual or team who, in its judgment, best personifies this excellence and service to students. Emphasis will be placed on selecting individuals who enhance the reputation of the award.

Though appropriate pedagogy can have disciplinary variation, a certain minimal uniformity should be obtained across the University. Therefore, the following criteria must be applied to every nominee:

a. Excellence in classroom teaching as indicated by outstanding student and peer reviews of teaching as well as evidence of student learning.

b. Activities inside and outside the classroom that indicate extraordinary service to students. Such activities might include, but are not limited to, academic advising, use of technologies that facilitate learning, co-curricular and/or community-based learning opportunities, and design of special learning experiences.

c. Efforts at improving teaching such as assessing the effectiveness of teaching activity and employing innovative approaches to instruction that enhances student learning.

Procedures for Nomination/Application

1. All applications must be submitted to the respective Dean’s Office, not directly to the Faculty Awards Committee, for approval. Check with your Dean’s office for internal deadlines and guidelines for approval and signature, as those deadlines may be well in advance of the final deadline. Nominations may typically come from people who are most familiar with faculty work, such as department chairs and/or colleagues; self-nominations are also acceptable.

2. Self-nominations must be submitted, like all applications, to the respective Dean’s Office, not directly to the Faculty Awards Committee. If you plan to self-nominate, please contact your Dean early to let her or him know of your plans and learn of your Dean’s Office’s internal deadlines and guidelines for approval and signature.

3. There is no limit on the number of applications an academic unit can submit to the Faculty Awards Committee. Nominees can, if they wish, remain under consideration for three consecutive years.

4. Applicants can remain in the pool of candidates for a period of three consecutive years from the time of first application, and will be invited (though not required) to update their materials should they choose to be re-considered for the awards.

5. Once a person receives the Award, she or he is not eligible to apply again for the same award in subsequent years.

6. The various deans will send all nomination materials to Patty Lamb, Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center, +1302, ext. 94898, no later than 5:00 p.m., Friday, January 24, 2014. Nominations and supporting materials received after that date cannot be accepted. Any questions may be directed to Co-Chairs Dr. Carolyn Ridenour or Dr. Mike Gorman (MIS, Operations, and Decision Sciences).

Nomination Pool: Applicants will remain in the pool of candidates for a period of three consecutive years, and will be invited to update their materials should they choose to stay in contention for the awards.