Welcome to the University of Dayton! We're a top-tier Catholic, research university with a time-honored philosophy of education.

In the tradition of the Marianist priests and brothers who founded the University of Dayton in 1850, we respond to the signs of the times. We educate students for adaptation and change because we know they will enter a changing world. Our graduates use their education and community-building skills to excel in their professions and make a difference in the lives of others.

Our search for truth is grounded in both faith and reason. We offer a wide range of excellent academic programs delivered by caring and gifted faculty. Our research initiatives stretch the frontiers of the imagination and benefit humanity. Our highly residential campus allows students to learn and live in community.

I invite you to explore what makes the University of Dayton such a special place.

Joseph E. Saliba

Provost's Council Members 2013-14

The Provost's Council is comprised of educational and academic leaders of the university. The Provost's Council serves as a consulting and advisory body to the Provost. The Provost's Council meets monthly during the academic year.

Paul H. Benson, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Deborah J. Bickford, Ph.D.
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Learning Initiatives, Director of the Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center

Paul Bobrowski, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Business Administration

Patrick G. Donnelly, Ph.D.
Associate Provost for Faculty and Administrative Affairs

William M. Fischer, J.D.
Vice President for Student Development

Kevin R. Kelly, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Education and Health Sciences

Rev. Joseph F. Kozar, S.M.
Assistant Rector

Sundar Kumarasamy
Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing

John E. Leland, Ph.D.
Director, Research Institute

Paul E. McGreal, J.D.
Dean, School of Law

Carolyn Roecker-Phelps, Ph.D.
President, Academic Senate

Joseph E. Saliba, Ph.D.

Tony E. Saliba, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Engineering

Thomas D. Skill, Ph.D.
Associate Provost and CIO

Paul Vanderburgh, Ed.D.
Associate Provost, Graduate Academic Affairs

Kathleen M. Webb
Dean, University Libraries

Vision of Excellence & University Strategic Plan

September 2005

A Vision of Excellence (final document) >>

University Strategic Plan - approved by the Board of Trustees (October 20, 2006)

University of Dayton Strategic Plan >>

Provost's Speeches

Provost's Address to the Faculty (Fall 2013) (PDF document) >>

Provost's Address to the Faculty (Fall 2012): "Transmission - Transaction - Transformation" (PDF document) >>

Provost's Address to the Faculty (Fall 2011): "Curriculum and Culture" (PDF document) >>

Provost's Address to the Faculty (Fall 2010): "The Journey, The Map, and The Atlas" (PDF document) >>

Provost's Address to the Faculty (Fall 2009):  "Building as Noun and Verb" (PDF document) >>

Catholic & Marianist Character

Catholic and Marianist Philosophy on Community Living at UD (PDF document) >>

Campus Ministry >>

The Office of Community Standards and Civility >>

Catholic-Marianist Resource Documents
  • 2009 Catholic-Marianist Philosophy of Education Survey Results - (survey conducted under the direction of the Mission and Identity Committee of the Board of Trustees)



Joseph E. Saliba, Ph.D., Provost

Associate Provosts

Deborah J. Bickford, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Learning Initiatives and Director, Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center
(click on title to visit website)

Patrick G. Donnelly, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Faculty and Administrative Affairs (click on title to visit website)

Thomas D. Skill, Ph.D., Associate Provost and Chief Information Officer (click on title to visit website)
  • Victoria L. Adams, Director, Student and Business Information Systems
  • Karen S. Bull, Director, IT Business Services
  • Jacquise Y. Jackson, Assistant CIO, Customer Relations, and Director, Technology Support Services
  • Susan Scott, Associate CIO, Financial and Administrative Operations, and Director, Systems Integration
  • Al J. Stern, Director, Central Hardware Systems and Network Storage
  • David J. Wright, Ph.D., Director, Curriculum Innovation and E-Learning

Paul M. Vanderburgh, Ed.D., Associate Provost, Graduate Academic Affairs (click on title to visit website)

  • Lisa M. Beutel, Center for Leadership
  • Bradley Duncan, Ph.D., Executive Director, Graduate Academic Affairs
  • Julie L. Mitchell, Director, Special Programs and Continuing Education

Administrative Staff 

Amy Askren, Faculty Hiring Coordinator/Assistant to the Associate Provost

Elise A. Bernal, Institutional Researcher for Academics

Jackie Estepp, Senior Administrative Assistant

Margaret Lisjak, Assistant to the Provost

Andrea Meyer Wade, Academic Events Coordinator, AALI