Aerial photograph of the Immaculate Conception Chapel

The Marianist Award

The Marianist Award derives its name from the title familiarly given to members of the religious orders founded by Blessed Fr. William Joseph Chaminade and Venerable Mother Adéle de Batz de Trenquelleon.

Established in 1950, the Marianist Award was originally presented to men and women who had made outstanding contributions to Mariology in America. In 1967, the concept for the award was broadened to honor individuals who had made outstanding contributions to humanity.

The Marianist Award was revived in 1986 when the University of Dayton announced that it would again present the award annually, this time to honor a Roman Catholic whose work has made a major contribution to the intellectual life. The award includes and original piece of Marian-themed art and a stipend of $5,000.

Marianist Award Recipients

1986 John Tracy Ellis
1987 Rosemary Haughton
1988 Timothy 0'Meara
1989 Walter Ong, S.J.
1990 Sidney Callahan
1991 John T. Noonan, Jr.
1992 Louis Dupré
1993 Monika K. Hellwig
1994 Philip Gleason
1995 J. Bryan Hehir
1996 Charles Taylor
1997 Gustavo Gutierrez
1998 David W. Tracy
1999 Jill Ker Conway
2000 Marcia L. Colish
2001 Mary Ann Glendon
2002 Mary Douglas
2003 Margaret O'Brien Steinfels
2003 Peter Steinfels
2004 Cardinal Avery Dulles
2005 David J. O'Brien
2006 Cyprian Davis, O.S.B.
2008 David Hollenbach, S.J.
2009 Elizabeth A. Johnson, C.S.J.