Peaceful Statue

BRINGING OUT THE BEST IN OUR COMMUNITY.

The Catholic and Marianist vision of community living requires us to demonstrate basic civility, decency, and respect for self and others. Most of our students embody these qualities every day. However, data and experience tell us there is a significant level of alcohol abuse at the University of Dayton; and the many manifestations of alcohol abuse are clearly inconsistent with our mission.  


In 2010, the Alcohol Task Force was established to foster our Catholic and Marianist vision of community living. The Alcohol Taskforce aimed to address high risk drinking on campus; and it is through partnership with faculty, staff, and students that we can make a difference in our community.

Entrance Sign of UD

WHAT HAVE WE DONE? LET'S TAKE A LOOK.

The Division of Student Development collaborated with various campus and community constituents in attempt to influence the culture at UD.  Faculty, staff, students, and community members have addressed issues such as prevention programming, educational interventions, communication, assessment, substance-free activities, policies, and enforcement.

RECOMMENDATIONEngagement with the Campus Community

ACCOMPLISHMENT: Community Wellness Services collaborated with the Coordinator of Sexual Violence Prevention through several campaigns, programs, the re-design of alcohol and staff training.
Students served on the Late Night Programming committee, Sexual Misconduct Task Force, and St. Patrick’s committee.
Communications were made to stakeholders through mediums including Facebook, websites, and letters. 

RECOMMENDATION: Significant investments are needed to provide activities and programs for students on all weekends

ACCOMPLISHMENT: $21,000 was dedicated to Late Night Programming for use by the student run Community Activities Board in 2012-13.
Late Night Programming mini-grants were created (mini-grants are grants to students to host alcohol free events).

RECOMMENDATION: Broader engagement with students on alcohol issues including education, prevention, understanding 

ACCOMPLISHMENT: Major constituents from the First Year Coordinating Team agreed to incorporate a lesson plan concerning alcohol in their classes.
Nearly 500 students received alcohol education through the Opt in Program (a diversion program for low level first time offenders)

Books On Shelf

KNOWLEDGE IS POWER. KNOW THE FACTS.

Did you know that high risk drinking negatively impacts students' overall health and wellness?

We did.

It is our responsibility to understand the national trends that surround high risk drinking and other drug use; and at the University of Dayton, we do. You too can educate yourself on these national trends.

Please view the National Alcohol Data information for college aged students.

DEVELOPING FACULTY, STAFF, AND STUDENT LEADERS.

The work of the Alcohol Task Force recommended a great deal of collaboration whenever developing successful strategies to address alcohol related problems in our community.  Thus, an Alcohol Advisory Group was created in January of 2012 and was composed of faculty, staff, and students. The Alcohol Advisory Group encouraged community involvement and leadership in accomplishing a culture change on campus.
Michael Bennett, Campus Ministry

937-229-4241mbennett3@udayton.edu

Chris Barger, Enrollment Management
937-229-4411 | cbarger1@udayton.edu

Joe Cairo, Public Safety
937-229-2116 | jcairo1@udayton.edu

Christina Smith, HRL, Student Development
937-229-3520 | csmith2@udayton.edu

Kristen Altenau, Sexual Misconduct, Student Development
937-229-1217 | kaltenau1@udayton.edu

Chad Warren, Alumni & Advancement
937-229-3588 | cwarren1@udayton.edu

Stevie Watson, Marketing, Faculty
937-229-3766 | swatson2@udayton.edu

Kim Trick, Faculty
937-229-3654 | ktrick1@udayton.edu

Jackson Goodnight, Psychology, Faculty
937-229-2738 | jgoodnight1@udayton.edu

Polly Long, Graduate Student
longp1@udayton.edu

Caroline Smith, Undergraduate Student
smithc5@udayton.edu

Mike Minnis, Undergraduate Student
minnism1@udayton.edu

Gabrielle Maresco, Undergraduate Student
marescog1@udayton.edu

Steve Mueller, Student Development
937-229-3141 | smueller1@udayton.edu

Leah Shamblin, Graduate Assistant Student Development
shamblinl1@udayton.edu

READY TO GET INVOLVED? HERE'S HOW.

This Google doc has the links for the resources below. In fact, the LNP needs to have a separate page to explain what it is. It is on this Google doc if you click LNP.
 
You can learn more by vistiting Community Standard & Civility and browsing the student handbook for policy information.  
You can contact a member of the Alcohol Advisory group to learn more about new alcohol prevention initatives.
You can participate in the Campus Activities Board (CAB), Campus Recreation, Late Night Programming (LDP), or Club 6.
You can talk to a professional if you are concerned about yourself or someone else at the Health Center, Community Wellness Services, or the Counseling Center

WHERE TO FIND US IF YOU NEED US.

Community Wellness Services
300 College Park Drive
Dayton, Ohio 45469-2610

McGinnis Center 112

Phone: 937-229-1233
Fax: 937-229-2044

http://www.udayton.edu/studev/wellness/index.php