Special Achievement Award

Special Achievement Award

The Special Achievement Award is presented to an alumnus who has distinguished himself or herself by earning special distinction in civic or professional activities, and has, by his or her actions, reflected honor on the Alumni Association and the University. The Special Achievement Award is given for outstanding achievement in business, in industry, through professional excellence, by civic activity or by service to the community. To be eligible, a person must be a graduate of the University of Dayton with an associate’s, bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree.

Jan Lepore-Jentleson ’71

Bachelor of Science, Psychology

Helping Neighbors Create Dreams, Jan Lepore-Jentleson ’71

Helping Neighbors Create Dreams, Jan Lepore-Jentleson ’71

Our children have no dreams.

That was what Jan Lepore-Jentleson heard from people living in the Twin Towers Neighborhood in Dayton.

“When I went and talked with the kids, they had no pride in themselves. And it was heartbreaking because they described themselves in very negative terms,” Lepore-Jentleson said in describing the children living in the impoverished neighborhood.

She decided that she wanted to help improve the conditions and in 1998 established the East End Community Services, a nonprofit that strives to break generational poverty in Dayton’s Twin Towers Neighborhood.

As founder and executive director, Lepore-Jentleson has developed programs and partnerships to improve the lives of more than 5,200 individuals living in the neighborhood. The organization has provided after-school and summer educational programs for elementary school children; youth development programs; job training and placements; parenting classes; food security efforts; and family support services.

“I’ve learned that poverty is one of the most complex issues facing our planet,” she said. “People in poverty, they love their kids. They want the best for their families. They are good folks who deserve a helping hand to get back on track.”

In addition, the organization is actively involved with Ruskin Pre-K School — the neighborhood school — which is now the second-highest performing elementary school in the district.

“We are helping our neighbors create dreams and changing the mindset of a generation,” she said. “It is possible to create change.”

Steven Budd ’76, ’78

Bachelor of Arts, Political Science
Master of Public Administration

Moving Dayton Forward, Steven Budd ’76, ’78

Moving Dayton Forward, Steven Budd ’76, ’78

Steven Budd knew when he graduated college that he wanted to do more than work at a for-profit business. He thought about what he was passionate about and realized it was Dayton — the city he had grown to love since he came to the University of Dayton in 1972.

Budd took his passion and used an internship while working on his master’s degree at UD into a lifelong career at CityWide Development Corp. — a nonprofit economic and community development organization.

In 1989 he became the president of CityWide. During his tenure he worked on two projects that he said were his favorites. First, the Genesis Project helped to revitalize the neighborhood and business district between UD and Miami Valley Hospital. The second project was Tech Town. This project took an abandoned auto manufacturing site and created three buildings that are now the home to 50 businesses and 500 employees.

Though Budd retired this past January, he said he loved every minute of work. “What I tell young people is to go out and find out what you are passionate about. Find a job that incorporates that passion,” Budd advised. “For me, it all started with UD and Dayton, which I now call my home.”

Budd found another love at Dayton during his undergrad and graduate days. He and his wife, Beth, have been married for 40 years and have three grown children.

Past Recipients

Bucky Albers '68
Herbert J. Ammerman '69 
Thomas J. Archdeacon, Jr. '72 
Robert Arnzen '51 
Robert L. Bates '67 
Steven C. Bergman '77 
Arthur B. Bok III '74
Susann M. Brady-Kalnay '87
Jacquline M. Brumfield '71 
Paul J. Campbell '67 
John R. Castignola '47 
James L. Charles '53
Erica Chenoweth '02 
Jacqueline K. Collier '67 
Ronald W. Collins '57 
Daniel E. Denlinger '79 
Daklak Cao Do '89 
Donald J. Donoher '54 
Elizabeth Duell '58
Timothy L. Dues '74 
Diana R. Dunn '59 
Martha J. Dunsky '75 
James L. Dutt '66 
James A. Eiting '58 
Ahmed K. Elmagarmid '77 
Kathleen J. Emery '69 
William M. Fackovec, S.M. '49 
Gerald A. Faust, Jr. '58 
Arthur O. Fisher '48 
David P. Fitzgerald '71 
Frances Longo Franchina '60 
Manuel L. Garlikov '43 
Barbara P. Gorman '74 '77
Garry B. Grice '64 
Jon Gruden '86 
William J. Gutbrod '50 
Thomas M. Hannigan '66 
Gerald M. Hauer '56 
Nancy K. Hayes '73 
Allen Hill '67, '72
Joseph Hinrichs '89
Daniel J. Hornbach '74
Sharon Davis Howard '78
Ann Hudock '90, '93
Arthur J. Huber '54 
Mary Josephine Huth '50 
Charles B. Jones '49 
Henry M. Josefczyk '60 
Jonathan Judge '93
Robert S. Kennedy '65 
William P. King '96
Victoria Knipper Hughes '74 
Wayne D. Lancaster '69 
John D. Lewis '70 
Lloyd E. Lewis '48 
Claire R. Longman '77 
Sr. Grace A. Luther, F.M.I. '48 
Craig E. Lyon '73 
Charles V. Magatti '71 
Jon J. Major '80 
Westina L. Matthews '70 
Thomas F Mazza '81 
Linda J. Mercuri '69 
John F. Michitsch '65 
Michele Mirto '91 
John E. Moore '55 
Charles H. Noll '53 
Kenneth G. Oaks '87
Joseph A. Oths '56 
Kenneth Perko '63 
John J. Peterangelo '67 
Margaret E. Peters '59 
Diane Kitzerow Phillips '64 
ShirleyA. Pohl '57 
Daniel Patrick Pugh '79 
Francis X. Quinn '51 
William M. Raveis, Jr. '68 
Mary Anne Reilly-Dirlam '75 
B. William Ricco '58 
Elmo E. Roach '63 
John D. Rossi '58 
Joseph M. Scaminace '75 
Earl Scheidler '57 
Joseph Scherger '71 
Katherine A. Schipper '71 
Rosemary Schmidt '52 
Richard M. Schoen '72 
Roman U. Schoenherr '56 
Stephen P. Scovic '66 
Deborah J. Seifert '70
Michael Sewell '85
Gerald S. Sharkey '65 
Mary Ann Sharkey '74 
Ned J.Sifferlen '63 
Michael S. Someck '62 
Robert G. Stachler '51 
Virginia MacMillan Varga '51 
Howard Watkins '86 
Robert L. Westerheide '56 
Marcy Weston '66 
A. William Wiggenhorn '66 
Michael D. Wilson '70 
Kevin J. Wood '69 
Helen A. Yura-Petro '53 
Haleem N. Zihenni '88


University Advancement

Daniel J. Curran Place
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 7055
About Us