John Stuart Society

The John Stuart Society: Leaders With Vision

The University of Dayton was founded on faith. In 1850, John Stuart sold his 120-acre farm to the Marianists. The collateral: a medal of St. Joseph and a promise. John Stuart’s belief in the Marianists and their vision for education changed the world. That farm has become a community reaching across time and beyond borders. The John Stuart Society was formed in 1983 to honor alumni and friends who are clearly dedicated to the mission and future of the University of Dayton through a lifetime of giving.

Members of the John Stuart Society share this bold vision with cumulative giving of $100,000 or more. Please see the Honor Roll below for a list of current members. You can also view photos from the most recent John Stuart Society dinner.

Membership Levels:

St. Mary's Circle:  $5,000,000+
Dewberry Circle:  $2,500,000 - $4,999,999
Chaminade Circle:  $1,000,000 - $2,499,999
St. Joseph's Circle:  $500,000 - $999,999
Medallion Circle:  $100,000 - $499,999

John Stuart Society members are the guardians of our shared future. Join us.

Make a gift

John Stuart Society Honor Roll

St. Mary's Circle


Dewberry Circle


Chaminade Circle


St. Joseph's Circle


Medallion Circle

Name & Title

Valerie Mershimer-Mohr

Director, Donor Relations


Email: Valerie Mershimer-Mohr

Phone: 937-229-2955

Advancement: Advancement Operations


Donor Relations

Daniel J. Curran Place 5th Floor 
300 College Park  
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 7052