Arts Events for November 2016

Note: While we make every effort to keep this listing up to date, event details are subject to change. All events are free and open to the public unless otherwise noted.


Grohs artwork

Hans Friedrich Grohs: Art and Mystic

Monday, Aug. 8 - Tuesday, Nov. 15

The Marian Library presents an exhibition of the German Expressionism artwork of Hans Friedrich Grohs.


'RELEASE'

Tuesday, Nov. 1 through Tuesday, Nov. 29, Opening Event: Tuesday, Nov. 1

A part of ArtStreet's fall 2016 IACT Installation Series. When striving through tantrums and struggles, we lose hope, we fail to forgive. Will we celebrate and see the beauty? Creative Lead: Tyler Hamilton.

African Music film

Documentary Film: They Will Have to Kill Us First

Tuesday, Nov. 1

This feature-length documentary follows musicians in Mali in the wake of a jihadist takeover and subsequent banning of music in 2012. The film complements the ArtsLIVE concert by the Mali-based ensemble Trio Da Kali on November 2.


Trio da Kali

ArtsLIVE Concert: Trio Da Kali

Wednesday, Nov. 2

Trio Da Kali is the latest in a long line of influential musicians to emerge from Mali, Africa.


die Fledermaus

Opera: "Die Fledermaus"

Friday, Nov. 4 - Sunday, Nov. 6

performance of Johann Strauss' lighthearted opera, co-produced by the Department of Music and the Theatre, Dance, and Performance Technology Program.


Prima

Prima Trio

Sunday, Nov. 6

The members of Prima Trio hail from Eastern Europe and Russia. The group features the clarinet, violin and piano.

Michael Viega

Music Therapy Clinician Dr. Michael Viega

Tuesday, Nov. 8 — Wednesday, Nov. 9

A series of lectures and presentations on the topic of Hip Hop music and culture in Music Therapy treatment.

Kristallnacht

Kristallnacht Remembrance Service

Wednesday, Nov. 9

The Department of Music's World Music Choir helps to commemorate Kristallnacht, "The Night of Broken Glass."


Faculty Jazztet

Sunday, Nov. 13

A free jazz performance by department of music faculty.


David Sievers

Recital: "Lift We Up Our Lofty Song"

Saturday, Nov. 19

This faculty voice recital features Artist-in-Residence David Sievers, tenor.

Chorale

Choral Union and Early Music Ensemble

Monday, Nov. 21

The Department of Music's Choral Union and Early Music Ensemble perform in concert.


Our Alumni

Point: Senior Art Show

Thursday, Nov. 3 – Thursday, Dec. 8

An exhibition presented by senior Art and Design students.

Jamie Baum

ArtsLIVE Concert: Jamie Baum Quintet

Wednesday, Nov. 30

New York City musician and composer Jamie Baum is one of the country’s most celebrated jazz flutists.

Preconcert conversation >

Concert >

Contact Us

The Arts at UD

300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2620

937-229-5104 

Connect