Arts Events for September 2016

Note: While we make every effort to keep this listing up to date, event details are subject to change. All events are free and open to the public unless otherwise noted.

Grohs artwork

Hans Friedrich Grohs: Art and Mystic

Monday, August 8 - Tuesday, November 15

The Marian Library presents an exhibition of the German Expressionism artwork of Hans Friedrich Grohs.

Diverge / Converge exhibit

Converge / Diverge

Thursday, August 25 - Thursday. September 15

A faculty and staff exhibition in the Department of Art and Design's Gallery 249.

White Box Gallery: 'SENSATIONALIZE'

Tuesday, September 6

The Fall 2016 IAN Installation Series takes us on a connected journey from one’s own selfish “I” to the need for a collaborative “we,” from celebrity and selfie to terror and order towards evolution and hope. 

'SENSATIONALIZE' begins the fall 2016 season with an opening reception from 5:00 to 7:00 pm in the White Box Gallery at Artstreet. 

Piano Recital

Faculty Piano Trio

Friday, September 9

An evening performance by faculty Kara Manteufel on violin, Shelbi Wagner on cello, and John Benjamin on piano.

Nina Simone

Four Women: A Tribute to Nina Simone & the Black Arts Movement

Friday, September 16

A poetic-dramatic tribute to songwriter, jazz singer, composer, pianist and arranger, Nina Simone.


Zora String Quartet

Sunday, September 18

The ArtsLIVE concert season kicks off with a Vanguard Legacy Concert, featuring the Zora String Quartet.


Faculty Artist Recital: Andrea Chenoweth Wells

Monday, September 19

Artist-in-Residence Andrea Chenoweth Wells, soprano, and guest pianist Donna Loewy present twentieth century songs about love and eroticism.


Pre-Concert Talk: Under the Influence

Wednesday, September 21

A free pre-concert lecture by Assistant Professor Sam Dorf, department of music and a light reception with faculty and members of the Akropolis reed quintet.


ArtsLIVE Concert: Akropolis

Wednesday, September 21

A fresh and fun performance by the critically-acclaimed Akropolis, a young reed quintet with a widely ranging repertoire of musical genres.


Strange Bruises / Ghosts Emerging

Thursday, September 22 – Thursday, October 27

An exhibition by visiting artists Benjamin Lee Sperry and Jennifer Nelson. Sperry curated by Jeff Jones; Nelson curated by Mike Conlan.

Trio Pardessus

Trio Pardessus (CANCELED)

Friday, September 23

This guest artist recital featuring Trio Pardessus has been canceled.


Wednesday September 28

ArtStreet confronts psychological and physical restraints in the second installation of the 2016-17 series.

Contact Us

The Arts at UD

300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2620