Student Awards

The Department of Philosophy presents four awards each year to students majoring in philosophy:

  • The Rev. Charles Polichek Award is given for the outstanding senior majoring in philosophy.  In addition, an award is given to the second outstanding senior.
  • The Rev. Charles C. Bloemer, S. M. Award is given to the outstanding junior majoring in philosophy.
  • The Richard R. Baker Award for excellence in tutoring undergraduate students is given to the philosophy major who has also made a significant contribution to the philosophy tutoring program.
  • The Department of Philosophy also presents the Raymond M. Herbenick Award for interdisciplinary integration in the Core Program.  The Herbenick Award was instituted in 1999 by the philosophy department faculty to honor Ray Herbenick's dedication to his students and his many contributions to the Core Program.
Dean Leonard A. Mann, S. M. Award of ExcellenceRocco M. Donatelli Award

Find Us

Department of Philosophy

Humanities 421 
300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1546