Premedical Programs

About Our Scholarships

Academic scholarships for current sophomores and juniors:

Funds for scholarships are derived from the generous support of members of the Dayton community. These funds help ensure that the top pre-professional students are rewarded for their excellent achievements at the University of Dayton. 

A few notes about the application:
  • You will identify your recommendation letter writers in the application. It is important that you ask these faculty if they will write you a letter of recommendation. They will receive an email from Premedical Programs after the application deadline with directions on completing the letter of recommendation.
  • You are asked to identify programs that you have participated in PPO Programs. These are programs sponsored by Premedical Programs such as Alpha Epsilon Delta, Dental Interest Group, Healing Hearts, Global Brigades, Reach Out Montgomery County and UD/Miami Valley Hospital Healthcare Symposium.

Scholarship Eligibility

Applicants for any scholarship offered through the Premedical Programs office must be second-year sophomore or third-year junior students enrolled at the University of Dayton who intend to apply to a primary health care professional school (medicine, dentistry, optometry, etc.). They must have registered with the Premedical Programs office, be active within the program, and be currently advised by one of the designated premedical advisors.

  • The scholarship must be used to defray the expenses of tuition, fees, and/or room and board at UD.
  • The amount of the awards can vary, depending on the qualifications and needs of the student.
  • Scholarships are awarded primarily on the basis of evidence for satisfactory academic performance and moderate financial need. The selection committee is comprised of premedical advisors.
  • Applications become available during the second semester of the academic year. Awards are announced in April.

Scholarship applications will be accepted beginning January 28 thru March 6, 2019.

Our Scholarships

The Premedical Program annually offers three scholarships to majors: the Eleanora S. Everhard Scholarship, the Dr. Steven E. and June H. Szabo Scholarship, and the Carl I. Michaelis Scholarship. Read more >>


Premedical Programs

Science Center
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2361