Law Alumni News: Apr. 2015

Chuck Baldwin ’83 has been re-elected as managing director of Ogletree Deakins, one of the largest labor and employment law firms representing management. Baldwin has served as Ogletree Deakins’ managing director since 2014 and has held numerous leadership roles with the firm since joining it in 2000 as one of the founding members of the Indianapolis office. He has served on Ogletree Deakins’ board of directors since 2011 and was previously the managing shareholder of the Indianapolis office. Baldwin has devoted his 30-year legal career to representing employers in a full range of labor and employment matters, including lawsuits involving Equal Employment Opportunity claims, labor arbitrations, National Labor Relations Board proceedings, wage and hour disputes, union avoidance, employment contracts, non-competition and trade secret disputes and class and collective action litigation.

The Dayton Business Journal would like to congratulate the 2015 class of Forty Under 40 winners in Dayton, including Sasha VanDeGrift Blaine '06Jennifer Brill '04 and Thomas Whalen '11.

Faruki Ireland & Cox P.L.L. is pleased to announce that partner Erin Rhinehart '04 has been invited to join the Ohio State Bar Foundation (OSBF) as a Fellow. The OSBF is known as the professional honorary of Ohio’s lawyers. Fellows are selected by the foundation’s board of trustees from members of the Ohio State Bar Association (OSBA) whose professional, public and private careers have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the welfare of the community, integrity, honor and courtesy of the legal profession. As the charitable arm of the OSBA, the foundation advances the philanthropic interest of Ohio’s lawyers to recognize excellence, improve the justice system and enhance public understanding of the rule of law. Individuals who are invited to become fellows are chosen based on a demonstration of their dedication to the highest ideals of the legal profession and the welfare of their community. They are offered service opportunities to volunteer with Ohio organizations that promote the pursuit of justice and public understanding of the rule of law.

"I am honored to have been nominated and invited to join the OSBF as a fellow. I look forward to working with my colleagues around the state in the promotion of the OSBF's mission," said Rhinehart.

Rhinehart has also been named to the 2015 Law360 Media & Entertainment Editorial Advisory Board. The board was formed by Law360 to get feedback on the news outlet’s coverage and to gain insight from experienced professionals in the field on how best to shape future coverage.

"I am excited to be appointed to the 2015 Law360 Editorial Advisory Board. I have followed and relied on Law360's coverage of media and entertainment law for years. Law360's commitment to accurate, timely and easily digestible coverage of relevant legal issues it what makes it the 'go-to' legal news source for so many practitioners. It is a privilege to be a part of Law360," she said.  

Rhinehart, who was recently named partner at Faruki Ireland & Cox, has received numerous accolades during her career as a litigator and media and communications law attorney. Among them are her inclusion in the 2014 and 2015 editions of Super Lawyers magazine as an Ohio Rising Star, and her recent appointment to the 2015 Law360 Media & Entertainment Editorial Advisory Board. Rhinehart is an active member of local and national bar associations. For the past several years, she has served on the editorial board for TYL, the official publication of the American Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Division. She is a member of the ABA’s Communications Law Forum, Media Law Resource Center, and Ohio State Bar Association’s Media Law Committee.

On Monday, April 6, 2015, the University of Dayton School of Law sent alumni to its inaugural class for admission to the Bar of the Supreme Court. Those admitted included Deborah Adler-Codeluppi '81, Adam Armstrong '05, Scott Bissell '09, Erik Blaine '06, Susan Bridgman '90, James Brookshire '91, Mariah Butler-Vogelgesang '03, Jim Byrd '84, Melanie Condron-Lai '06, Mike Conway '77, Angela Cosentino '83, Patrick Crowley '00, Matt DiCicco '00Will Harrelson '11, Hon. Mary Kate Huffman '90, Gary Gottschlich, Adam Komorowski '07, Maria Kozak (Saliba) '10, Adam Krumholz '08, Martin Malloy '77, Margaret Miller '11, Kelly Oyer-Peterson '07, John Piazza '88, Mary Rose Pica '79, Michael Rake '04, Brent Rambo '03, Candi Rambo '02, Jeff Rezabek '97, Susan Solle '99, Heidi Southern '97, Patrick Southern '04, Sasha VanDeGrift-Blaine '06, Ellen Weprin '89, Tom Whelley '77 and Steve Yuhas '85. Dean Paul McGreal, a member of the Supreme Court Bar, was also in attendence and put forward the motion to admit the Dayton Law contigent.

For more information, or to submit a news item, contact Denise Baker, assistant director of communications at the University of Dayton School of Law, at lawcomm@udayton.edu. Or submit your news online here.

Previous Post

In Memoriam

Read More
Next Post

Invaluable Experience

"Mock Trial Competition was incredibly rewarding," Michelle Thompson.

Read More