Friday March 16, 2018

Now Recruiting for Collaboration Accelerator 4.0

By Amy Pompilio '19

The Institute of Applied Creativity for Transformation (IACT)  is excited to begin recruitment for the Summer 2018 Collaboration Accelerator! We’re looking for ten of the most imaginative and innovative students from across all colleges and disciplines. Participants will develop their creative confidence in an immersive, professional summer internship experience based upon challenges that impact our community.

The Collaboration Accelerator gives a new perspective to “group work.” The purpose-based, humanity-centered IACT model prepares students for the complexity of problems in the real world. Students in the Accelerator take part in creative sprints that will inform their unique angle on problem solving. Collaboration guided by purpose makes for a one-of-a-kind experience in professional team dynamics and cultivates an environment of applied creativity that is accessible to students of any academic background.

Students of the Collaboration Accelerator are characteristically motivated to make an impact through the lens of their discipline, and willing to do so with an open mind to the IACT process. As an alum of Collaboration Accelerator 3.0, I had the chance to see the impact of transdisciplinary learning in action. In our cohort alone, we had business and psychology majors using power tools, engineers learning graphic design principles, and a math major, (that’s me!) writing communication materials for the work we did. We each had the freedom to try a new skill that wasn’t related to our traditionally projected career roles.

Similarly, our cohort took seemingly unrelated challenges and collided them to create something new. Take Plena, the Growth Re-Store prototype deliverable from Collaboration Accelerator 3.0. Emerson Helix Innovation Center gave us the challenge of determining how we could innovate the experience of shopping in a grocery store, and the Air Force Research Laboratory gave us the challenge of how to commercialize wireless power. When we looked deeper into the two challenges and collided them, we developed an innovative growth re-store that organized food by meals, rather than by refrigeration requirements, with the help of wireless power. Our second deliverable, Concourse D, collided AFRL’s vision of a cohesive “makerspace” culture with Roesch Library’s question of “what is a library without books.” The result, a project development studio for students, faculty, and university affiliates to collaborate, will come to life as part of the library’s renovation plan in the coming years. How’s that for an impact?

“People ask me all the time — how were you comfortable being in an experience that didn’t relate to engineering?” says Tess Isemann, C.A. 3.0 student. “Let me tell you — this does relate, and it has filled in the gaps that my classes and co-ops left behind. Learning how to self-define the process, how to find synergies across disciplines, and how to innovate is the foundation of any engineering problem. It’s been one of the most valuable UD experiences I’ve had in my four years.”

2018 Collaboration Accelerator Dates:

June 4 - July 27, 2018
Interns will work 35 hours/week and will be paid $15/hour. Campus housing will be provided.

Who Should Apply:

We are seeking a total of 10 interns for the summer. Current UD undergraduate students of any major are encouraged to apply. Students graduating in May 2018 are NOT eligible for this program.

What’s In It For You:
How to Apply:

Send the following to by Wednesday, March 28, 2018:


Contact Brian LaDuca, Executive Director of IACT (937-229-5103, or Adrienne Ausdenmoore, Director of IACT (937-229-5104,

Collaboration Accelerator 3.0 Students (2017): Darius Beckham, Andy Caldwell, Brooke Diviak, Lewis Forman, Tess Isemann, Colin Joern, Ashton Najarian, Amy Pompilio, Eli Redman, Kaitlyn Roberts, Luis Saafir, Ryan Wray

Collaboration Accelerator 2.0 Students (2016): Alexandra Damiani, Jason Elam, Conner Haenszel, Jeffrey LeCave, William Lawrence, Daniela Lopez, Samantha Mayne, Kevin Obergefell, Christian Ray, Grace Stannard, Jesse Thompson, Aaron Winfrey

Related Links

Previous Post

Next Post

Suggested Links