University of Dayton River Campus

An Invitation

On behalf of the University of Dayton and the University of Dayton Research Institute, it is our pleasure to invite you to be part of the International Workshop on Thin Films for Electronics, Electro-Optics, Energy and Sensors (TFE3S) to be held in Dayton, Ohio, USA, June 25-27, 2017. 

The University’s Center of Excellence for Thin-Film Research and Surface Engineering (CETRASE) is delighted to organize its second international workshop at the University of Dayton’s River Campus. The inaugural workshop was held at the University of Dayton China Institute in Suzhou, PRC, in July 2015. In the future, this workshop will be organized biannually rotating between Asia and North America. The 2017 Dayton workshop precedes the IEEE National Aerospace Electronics (NAECON 2017) scheduled for June 27-30, 2017, in Dayton, Ohio, USA. 

The purpose of the workshop is to exchange technical knowledge and boost technical and educational collaboration activities within the thin film research community through CETRASE. Topics include, but are not limited to the following:

  1. Multifunctional oxide thin films
  2. Thin-film microelectronics
  3. Flexible and printable thin films
  4. Thin film meta-materials
  5. Optical thin films
  6. Organic, biological thin films and their applications
  7. Phase-change materials and other thin film sensor materials
  8. Thin films for energy storage and harvesting
  9. Novel processing and characterization techniques of thin-films

Prospective authors are invited to submit a 250-500 word abstract describing original work. We look forward to your participation.

Organized By

  • University of Dayton
  • University of Dayton Research Institute

Workshop Chairperson

  • Guru Subramanyam, University of Dayton

Workshop Program Committee

  • Partha Banerjee, University of Dayton
  • Marc Cahay, University of Cincinnati
  • Chonglin Chen, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • James Grote, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Nian X. Sun, Northeastern University
  • Qiwen Zhan, University of Dayton

International Advisory Committee

  • Melanie Cole, Army Research Laboratory
  • Sandwip Dey, Arizona State University
  • Ram Katiyar, University of Puerto-Rico
  • Chung Kun Song, Dong-a University, S. Korea

Local Organizing Committee

  • Weisong Wang, University of Dayton
  • Eunsung Shin, University of Dayton
  • Priyanka Bhattacharya, University of Dayton Research Institute

Get in Touch

CETRASE at the University of Dayton

Guru Subramanyam, Ph.D.
Director, CETRASE
Chairperson and Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering



Kettering Lab 341 
300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 0232