Commemoration of 65th Anniversary of Jet Propulsion at the von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center

    The von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center at the University of Dayton and the Propulsion Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (WPAFB),Dayton, Ohio, will jointly commemorate the 65th anniversary of the first flight of the jet engine in a ceremony at 10 a.m. Friday, August 27, 2004.

    Second only to the invention of the airplane by the Wright Brothers, the jet engine has truly revolutionized military and civil aviation. Indeed, the U.S. National Academy of Engineering citation for the prestigious 1991 Charles Stark Draper Prize to Dr. Hans von Ohain and Sir Frank Whittle reads, “The development of the turbojet engine revolutionized the world’s transportation system, thus improving the world’s economy and transforming the relationship between nations and their people.”

    The ceremony will be in Building 18, Main Conference Room at WPAFB. Mrs. Hanni von Ohain will attend along with Air Force and University leaders and other dignitaries. Dr. Alan Garscadden, chief scientist of AFRL/PR will present a 30-minute lecture entitled, Propulsion Challenges: Past, Present, and Future. He will recollect the memories of Dr. Hans von Ohain, who retired in 1979 as the chief scientist of the Aerospace Research Laboratories and the Air Force Aero Propulsion Laboratory at WPAFB. This event will conclude with a luncheon, hosted by the von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center, in the President’s Suite in Kennedy Memorial Union on the University of Dayton campus.

    Other Related Links

    Get in Touch

    von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center

    University of Dayton

    School of Engineering