Researchers at von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center Receive Awards

    Matthew DeWitt (with coworkers Scott Breitfield, Joe Mantz, and Mark Laber) was recognized by the Fuels Branch of the Air Force Research Laboratory for successfully developing a mobile laboratory to measure particulate matter and gaseous emissions from turbine engine combustion. This Turbine Engine Research Transportable Emissions Lab. (TERTEL) has extensive, state-of-the-art instrumentation and allows for physical and chemical characterization of emissions from engines, both in test cell and on actual aircraft. TERTEL supports a Strategic Environmental Research and Development Program (SERDP) for fixed- and rotating-wing military aircraft.

    Steven Zabarnick was appointed vice chair of Fuels Stability Group of Coordinating Research Council (CRC), Atlanta, Georgia. This group coordinates research in all aspects of fuel thermal and storage stability. CRC is a non-profit national organization that directs, through committee action, engineering and environmental studies on the interaction between transportation (automotive, aircraft etc.) equipment and petroleum products.

    Alex Heltzel (and co-authors) received the AIAA Best Paper in Thermophysics award. This paper describes calculations and experiments which broke the optical diffraction limit, allowing for nanoscale laser material processing.

    Scott Stouffer and student Garth Justinger (with co-authors) won First Place in the Scientific Art Contest at the Fifth U.S. Combustion Institute Meeting in San Diego for their image “Soot Spirals.” This image captures the experimental and modeling simulation results on soot formation in a recirculating diffusion flame produced by a centerbody.

    Dr. Phil Taylor and Dr. Sukh Sidhu were awarded a grant of $160K from the Ohio Air Quality Development Authority for a university-based, clean-coal research project. Taylor and Sidhu will investigate how, when, and why the mercury in coal changes form when coal is burned. “Understanding this is critical to allowing coal-burning utilities to develop pollution control systems that will effectively capture mercury released from coal before it is emitted into the air, water and eventually our food chain,” said Phil Taylor.

    Dr. Steven Zabarnick was appointed a member of board of directors of International Association of Stability and Handling of Liquid Fuels (IASH). This is a prestigious appointment to the world’s foremost international organization. IASH is an international, non-governmental, interdisciplinary, volunteer association with over 300 members in more than 30 countries worldwide. They represent academia, government, and sectors associated with the petroleum industry. Their interests span the time from when fuels are produced in a refinery until they are burned in a power plant, engine, furnace, or turbine.

    Rajee Assudani (doctoral student) and Professors Jamie Ervin and Steven Zabarnick received a Best Paper Award for their paper entitled, Numerical and Experimental Studies of Jet Fuel Flow Near the Freeze Point Temperature, presented at the 30th AIAA Dayton-Cincinnati Aerospace Sciences Symposium, held in Dayton, Ohio.

    Other Related Links

    Get in Touch

    von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center

    University of Dayton

    School of Engineering