University Assessment Committee

If you have questions regarding the assessment process at UD feel free to contact any of the members of the University Assessment Committee (listed below).

Members

Deborah Bickford (chair) - Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Learning Initiatives and Director, Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center (dbickford1 [at] udayton.edu) 
Brad Duncan - Associate Dean of Graduate, Professional, & Continuing Education (bduncan1 [at] udayton.edu)
Sawyer Hunley - Assistant Provost for the Common Academic Program (shunley1 [at] udayton.edu)
Fred Jenkins - Assessment Coordinator for Libraries (fjenkins1 [at] udayton.edu)
Justin Keen - Assessment Coordinator for Student Development (jkeen1 [at] udayton.edu)
Don Polzella - Assessment Coordinator for College of Arts & Sciences (dpolzella1 [at] udayton.edu)
Lori Shaw - Assessment Coordinator for School of Law (lshaw1 [at] udayton.edu)
Paul Sweeney - Assessment Coordinator for School of Business Administration (psweeney2 [at] udayton.edu)
Nita Teeters - Assessment Coordinator for the Common Academic Program (nteeters1 [at] udayton.edu) 
John Weber - Assessment Coordinator for School of Engineering (jweber1 [at] udayton.edu)
Pam Young - Assessment Coordinator for School of Education & Health Sciences (pyoung1 [at] udayton.edu)

Purpose

Under authority of the provost, this committee coordinates university-level assessment and oversees divisional or unit-level assessment, utilizing a distributed model for assessment with local responsibility. This committee maintains and implements the University Assessment Plan by monitoring and supporting assessment activities in individual units. It also coordinates assessment activities associated with university-level and program-level accreditation.

Meetings

Monthly during the academic year

Membership Composition

a. Associate provost for academic affairs and learning initiatives, chair

b. An assessment coordinator from each of the following: College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business Administration, School Education and Health Sciences, School of Engineering, School of Law, Libraries, and Student Development. The associate provost consults with the deans and vice presidents in each area before their assignment of individuals to the role of assessment coordinator. The assessment coordinators typically serve on this committee for at least three years.

c. Associate dean of graduate, professional, & continuing education

d. Others as appropriate, appointed by the committee chair

Get in Touch

Contact Us

Elise Bernal

ebernal1 [at] udayton.edu