Domains of Knowledge

Students complete the General Education requirements by taking eleven (11) courses in five domains of knowledge. Four of these courses are taken as part of the Humanities Base. At least three of these courses are taken within a specific Thematic Cluster. The remaining four courses may be selected from approved courses among the five domains.

Arts Study

The experience of generations confirms that life is enriched immeasurably by experiencing the world through the arts.  Every student must take one course in the arts or languages as a means of aesthetic and/or cultural expression.

English 102, English 114, or English 198 that form part of the Humanities Base are not counted as fulfilling the Arts Study requirement. Courses in English composition meet reading and writing competency requirements for all students. Students who begin in ENG 101, complete the Humanities Base and the competency requirements in ENG 102. Students who begin in ENG 114 or ENG 198 complete both the competency and the Humanities Base requirements with that course. ENG 198 is for Honors students and may meet the Arts Studies Requirement for those students exempted from the first-year composition requirement.

Historical Study

Educated persons in our society should have a knowledge of history.  With such a knowledge, we can relate ideas and events to one another within a context understood by the community of educated men and women.  Therefore, every student at the University of Dayton must take two history courses.  One of those courses,  History 103 or History 198 will be taken as part of the Humanities Base.

Philosophy and Religious Studies

As a Catholic, Marianist institution of learning, the University regards religious studies and philosophy as serving a special function.  Students should have an opportunity to deepen their knowledge of the religious and philosophical traditions that shape their shared heritage.  Study of these areas, especially when conducted through interdisciplinary courses, can also help a student integrate knowledge of the themes and institutions of societies through the ages.  Every student must take four courses in religious studies and philosophy: Philosophy 103; Religious Studies 103, or Religious Studies 198; and two additional courses.  (Please note that while philosophy and religious studies form a single Domain of Knowledge for satisfying the overall General Education Requirements, they count as separate Domains for the Thematic Cluster requirement).

Physical and Life Sciences

The physical and life sciences and technology have affected the quality of life in every age, but never more than in the present.  The potential of science and technology for both good and evil will undoubtedly increase in the future.  It is essential, therefore, that students understand the methods of science and its application through technology.  For these reasons students must take two courses in the physical and life sciences and technological applications.

Social Sciences

As educated members of society, we should understand the dynamics through which people relate to each other as individuals, in groups, and as producers and consumers of goods and services.  Effective relationships sustain us as members of families, professions, nations, and the global community.  Students, therefore, must take one course in the social sciences.