About the Faculty Award in Teaching

The annual Faculty Award in Teaching is supported by funds provided by the UD Alumni Association, in order to honor excellence in teaching. The Faculty Awards Committee selects the ranked faculty member who has distinguished himself or herself in at least three terms of classroom teaching. Two or more faculty or a faculty member plus additional members of the instructional staff may be nominated as a team or may submit a joint application if they engage in team teaching or other collaborative teaching activities. Persons eligible to apply for teaching awards are those under full-time contract with the University whose efforts are predominantly devoted to classroom instruction.

The recipient of the Award receives $3,000, funded by the Alumni Association. If two or more faculty members win as a team, all will share equally in the Award and the $3,000. In addition, the individual or team selected receives University recognition and may be invited to make a public presentation at appropriate University ceremonies and forums, conduct a seminar, speak with alumni groups, and so forth

Nomination Procedure

The nomination process is easy; send your recommendations to Faculty Development at facdev@udayton.edu, and the awards committee will contact nominees to notify them they have been nominated, and encourage them to apply.   The application process is also straightforward, and the application materials are due January 26, 2018.

Self-nominations are also acceptable.  

Application Procedure

If nominees decide to apply, all applications must be submitted to the respective Dean’s Office, not directly to the Faculty Awards Committee, for approval. Check with your Dean’s Office for internal deadlines and guidelines for approval and signature, as those deadlines may be well in advance of the final deadline. Nominations may typically come from people who are most familiar with faculty work, such as department chairs and/or colleagues; self-nominations are also acceptable.

Click here for the application template

There is no limit on the number of applications an academic unit can submit to the Faculty Awards Committee. Nominees can, if they wish, remain under consideration for three consecutive years.

Applicants will remain in the pool of candidates for a period of three consecutive years from the time of first application, and will be invited (though not required) to update their materials should they choose to be re-considered for the awards.

Once a person receives the Award, she or he is not eligible to apply again for the same award in subsequent years.

Deans or their designees will send or email a single copy of the application for each applicant to Susan Brown, Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center, sbrown4@udayton.edu, +1302, ext. 93309, no later than 5:00 p.m., Friday, January 26, 2018. Please note that this process has been changed to make it more efficient and sustainable.  Nominations and supporting materials received after that date cannot be accepted.  Any questions may be directed to committee co-chairs Fred Jenkins and Aaron Altman.

Selection Criteria

1.  Excellence in classroom teaching as indicated by outstanding student and peer reviews of teaching as well as evidence of student learning.
Activities inside and outside the classroom that indicate extraordinary service to students.  Such activities might include, but are not limited to, academic advising, use of technologies that facilitate learning, co-curricular and/or community-based learning opportunities, and design of special learning experiences.
Efforts at improving teaching such as assessing the effectiveness of teaching activity and employing innovative approaches (nominee’s original approach or adapted from another) to instruction that enhances student learning.
Others: Evidence of impacting the education of students more broadly: outside of their own teaching, within their department, throughout the University of Dayton, and outside of their University; Evidence of scholarship of teaching and learning.

Composition of Review Committee

This year the Faculty Awards Committee, appointed by the Provost, consists of Co-chairs Fred Jenkins (University Libraries) and Aaron Altman (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), Roger Crum (Art and Design), Charles Hallinan (Law),  Pam Young (Educational Administration), Chuck Wells (MIS, OS, Decision Sciences), Saverio Perugini (Computer Science), Valerie Mershimer-Mohr (Advancement), Susan Brown (LTC, ex officio), students Kayla Pariser (Mechanical Engineering) and Kylie Thompson (English).