Thursday June 29, 2006

New Trustees

The University of Dayton has named five new trustees to its board of trustees.

The University of Dayton has named five prominent business and community leaders to its board of trustees for three-year terms. The trustees include:

* Richard Abdoo, retired chairman and chief executive officer of Wisconsin Energy Corp. He was one of the longest-serving CEOs of any major U.S. energy company before his retirement in 2004. He serves on the boards of AK Steel Corp., Marshall & Isley Corp., Sensient Technologies Corp. and Catalytica Energy Systems Inc. and chairs the Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce, the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations and the Milwaukee Redevelopment Corp. Abdoo also serves on the United Way Greater Milwaukee Campaign Cabinet. He received a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering from UD in 1965 and a master's in economics from the University of Detroit in 1969. He received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from UD in 2002 and served previous terms on the UD board of trustees from 1994 to 2003.

* Frank Geraci, president-elect of the National Alumni Association board of directors. He also served as president of the Rochester, N.Y., alumni chapter and chair of the chapter council. He served on several boards, including the Monroe County (N.Y.) Catholic school board. He received a bachelor's degree in political science from UD in 1973 and a juris doctorate from the UD School of Law in 1977. He practiced law in private practice, served as a federal prosecutor for Western New York and served as an instructor for the U.S. Attorney General's Advocacy Institute in Washington, D.C. Currently, he is a Monroe County Court Judge.

* Susan Kettering, vice president and a trustee of the Kettering Family Foundation in Dayton, Ohio. An honorary trustee of the University of Dayton, she served three consecutive terms on the board from 1994 to 2004 and was a member of the advancement, student life and facilities committees. She served on numerous boards in both Dayton and Florida, including the
Kettering Fund, Miriam Rosenthal Foundation, Center for Marine Conservation, the Women's Board of Children's Medical Center and the Dayton Bar Auxiliary.

* Peter Luongo, retired president and CEO of the Berry Co. in Dayton, Ohio. Currently, he's the executive director of the Center for Leadership and Executive Development at the University of Dayton, where he earned a bachelor's degree in communication in 1965. He served in 2003 as campaign chair for the United Way of the Greater Dayton Area and currently serves as chair of the board of directors. He also serves as treasurer and a member of the executive committee of the Dayton Development Coalition, vice chair of the Greene Memorial Hospital Board of Directors and sits on numerous other boards and committees. He serves on both the UD School of Business Administration advisory council and the athletics advisory board. Previously, he was a member of the National Alumni Association board of directors and chaired its student service committee, and served on the College of Arts and Sciences advisory council and the Corporate Executive Council. In addition to his work with UD, he served as president of Junior Achievement of Western New York, president of the school board of John Carroll High School in Birmingham, Ala., and director of the Boys and Girls Club. He received the Distinguished Alumnus Award from UD in 2005.

* David P. Yeager, vice chairman of the board and CEO of Hub Group Inc., the nation's largest intermodal marketing company, securing movement of freight between different carriers, including trains, trucks and ships. He serves on the board of directors at Children's Memorial Hospital in Chicago, where his family has established the Yeager Professorship in Neurosurgery. He also served on the Northwestern University transportation business advisory council and on the board of Elmhurst College in Illionois. He graduated with a bachelor's degree in chemistry from UD in 1975 and an MBA degree from the University of Chicago in 1987.

Contact Lynnette Heard, executive director of the president's office, at 937-229-4122.