Monday July 16, 2007

New Faces, New Honors

The University of Dayton hires a new vice president and dean, promotes others and bestows awards for teaching, scholarship and service.

The University of Dayton has hired new administrators and promoted others. Other UD faculty and staff have won awards for teaching, scholarship and service.

* Deborah A.W. Read has been named vice president for advancement. Previously she served as vice president for university development at University at Albany, State University of New York. She also served as the executive director of the University at Albany Foundation.

* Paul Benson is the new dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Previously he served as associate dean for integrated learning and curriculum in the College of Arts and Sciences. A philosophy professor, he has been a faculty member at UD for 22 years.

* Donald Pair, chair of the geology department, has been named associate dean for integrated learning and curriculum in the College of Arts and Sciences.

* Jack Ling has accepted a newly created position, executive director of institutional diversity and inclusion, beginning Sept. 4. He's currently associate dean for inclusive excellence and executive director of the Center for Multicultural Learning at Santa Clara University.

* John McCombe, associate professor of English, has been named associate director of the Honors and Scholars Programs for distinguished fellowship advising.

* Cilla Bosnak Shindell, assistant director of media relations, has been promoted to director of media relations.

* Peter Powers, associate professor of physics and electro-optics, has won the 2007 Alumni Award in Scholarship.

* Rex Berney, professor of physics, has won the 2007 Alumni Award in Teaching.

* Dilip Ballal has received the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics International Air Breathing Propulsion Award for 2007. The award is presented for meritorious accomplishments in the arts, sciences, and technology of air breathing propulsion systems. Ballal serves as the Hans von Ohain distinguished professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at UD.

* Billy Mayo, director of campus recreation, and Jeannie Perry, compensation manager, are the 2007 recipients of the Marianist Service Award. This award honors staff whose behavior exemplifies the Catholic and Marianist character of the University.

* The University of Dayton has named four new members to its National Alumni Association's board of directors, which represents 33 alumni chapters throughout the U.S. and Puerto Rico. New directors include: Dan Castleforte, president of Associated Computing Technology from Springboro; Patricia Barnard, senior vice president of Mirant Corp. from Atlanta; Richard M. Granite Jr., president of Granite Diagnostic Laboratories from Racine, Wisc; and Stephen J. Kelly, co-founder and principal of private equity partners of Merrill Lynch, Inc. and a Waban, Mass., resident.

* Robert Mott, professor emeritus of engineering technology, has been inducted as a fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education.