Thursday June 26, 2008

STEM Scholarships

Science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) students will have opportunities to share in $3.94 million in scholarships for the Dayton region through a new grant from the Ohio Board of Regents.

The University of Dayton will share in $3.94 million in STEM scholarships awarded to the Dayton region Thursday, June 25, by the Ohio Board of Regents.

Higher education Chancellor Eric D. Fingerhut announced the grants as part of the Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program to help develop the region's STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) workforce.

The goal of the scholarships is to attract and graduate an increased number of STEM students over a five year period to help fill jobs in human effectiveness, sensors and related information technologies. The U.S. Department of Defense estimates that the region will need a trained workforce in these areas to fill an anticipated 1,200 jobs by 2011.

"Choose Ohio First represents significant opportunity for both public institutions and private institutions such as the University of Dayton to enhance the state's capacity to prepare young people for the demands of the STEM areas. The grant will make college more affordable and STEM opportunities more accessible for young people from all socioeconomic backgrounds," said Joseph Saliba, interim provost.

The scholarships will focus at the undergraduate level, creating the Dayton Area Undergraduate Studies Institute, where students will have access to STEM curriculum at any participating institution.

All scholars will engage in undergraduate research, cooperative education and internship opportunities with local industry in this STEM area.

Partner institutions include: Wright State University (lead institution), Central State University, Wittenberg University, Clark State Community College, Edison Community College, Sinclair Community College, Southern State Community College, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, Dayton Development Coalition, EDvention, Battelle, Qbase, Emerson, LexisNexis, NASA Glenn, SOCHE, the Southern Ohio Educational Service Center, and the educational service centers of Montgomery, Clark, Miami and Greene counties.