Thursday August 21, 2008

Campus Report Aug 21, 2008

Thomas Lasley and David Biers will co-chair the search committee for the selection of the provost for the University.

Thomas J. Lasley, dean of the UD School of Education and Allied Professions, and David Biers, former chair of the Academic Senate, will co-chair the search committee for the selection of the Provost for the University of Dayton, President Daniel J. Curran announced Aug. 21.

Other members of the search committee:

Allan Crasto, UDRI

David Darrow, College of Arts and Sciences

Harry Gerla, School of Law

Elizabeth Gustafson, School of Business Administration

Allen Hill, board of trustees

Katie Kinnucan-Welsch, School of Education and Allied Professions

Sundar Kumarasamy, enrollment management

Billy Mayo, student development

Father Paul Marshall,  S.M., rector

Don Moon, School of Engineering

Deborah Read, University advancement

Joe Untener, office of the provost

Kathleen Webb, Roesch Library

Sandra Yocum-Mize, College of Arts and Sciences

"I am very pleased that these outstanding members of the University community have agreed to share their gifts of time and wisdom to assist the University in selecting our next academic leader," Curran said. "The position of provost is a mission-central executive leader and someone with whom I will work closely to advance the University's vision, strategic plan and our Catholic, Marianist traditions. I look forward to the vigorous and dedicated work of this committed team of colleagues."

Additional information about the provost's search will be provided by Curran during the fall faculty meeting at 3 p.m. Friday, Sept. 5, in Boll Theatre.