Thursday April 2, 2009

Scout Honors

UD faculty, staff and students were among those honored March 12 for their service to the local Boy Scouts organization.

On March 12, several University of Dayton employees and students were recognized for their volunteer service to the Wright Brothers District of the Boy Scouts of America.
  • Dwight Matlock of UDit technology support services was recognized for his service as a district unit commissioner, his work on district events and his leadership with Troop 320.
  • The District's Outstanding Organization Award was presented to the University of Dayton's chapter of Alpha Phi Omega for members' volunteer work on districtwide activities such as popcorn sales.
  • Ron Hoffman of University of Dayton Research Institute and his wife, Deborah Hoffman, received the Couples Award for their service to Troop 116 in Centerville. Ron Hoffman has been an active Scout leader for more than 10 years.
  • Scott Segalewitz of engineering technology, received the Unit Leader Award. He's been a Cubmaster and a district interfaith chair.
  • Don Klosterman of University of Dayton Research Institute and the chemical and materials engineering department received the Silver Cycle Award for service to his units as a Cubmaster and assistant Scoutmaster and a co-chair of the district Pinewood Derby.
  • Jo Fitzharris of the Computer Store received a district Award of Merit, the highest award presented by the Wright Brothers District, for service to her troop and the district and as an adviser to the UD chapter of Alpha Phi Omega.

The Wright Brothers District serves more than 2,500 youth in Belmont, Centerville, Dayton, Kettering, Miamisburg, Miami Township, Moraine, Oakwood, Riverside and West Carrollton.