Thursday July 1, 2010

New Chair, New Trustees

The University of Dayton has named a new chair to its board of trustees and welcomes five new members.

The University of Dayton has tapped finance, energy and business executives as well as two Marianist leaders to three-year terms on its board of trustees and welcomes a two-time University graduate as board chair.

Allen M. Hill assumes leadership of the board of trustees for a three-year term as chair. Hill, retired president and chief executive officer of DPL, Inc. and its subsidiary, The Dayton Power and Light Co., was first appointed to the board in 1993 and rejoined it in 2004. Hill received a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from the University in 1967 and a master’s degree in business administration from the University in 1972.

Hill takes over as president of the board from H. John Proud, who remains on the board.

The University of Dayton's five recently appointed trustees include:

Kevin Crotty held positions as executive vice president and chief operating officer of Van Dyne Crotty in Dayton. He has served as vice chairman of the Uniform and Textile Service Association and as a trustee of Catholic Social Services of the Miami Valley. He attended St. Joseph's College, in Rensselaer, Ind.

Deborah Ann Flanagan Tobias, retired operations director of the United Kingdom and Ireland offices of Juniper Networks, spent 20 years in technology sales and sales management. Flanagan started her career as a high school English teacher after receiving a bachelor’s degree in secondary education from the University of Dayton. She serves on the board of directors of the Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation, Catholic Youth Organization of Indianapolis, and as chairman of the Wawasee Area Conservancy Foundation.

Brother Francisco Gonzalez, S.M., M.D., returns to the board from honorary trustee status. He is the principal of Colegio San Jose in San Juan, Puerto Rico and recently was appointed provincial councilor for the United States Province of the Society of Mary. He holds a doctorate in medicine from the University of Puerto Rico, and has served as a fellow in child adolescent psychiatry and chief resident of the division of child psychiatry at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. He first was appointed to the University board in 2000 and became an honorary trustee in 2009.

Dennis Marx is a principal of JMG Financial Group, Ltd., in Chicago and was a member of the University of Dayton's National Alumni Association board from 1996 to 2003 and currently serves on the business advisory council for the University of Dayton's School of Business Administration. Marx received a bachelor's degree in accounting from the University in 1968 and an MBA from Loyola University in 1971. He is an adjunct professor at Dominican University and the Keller Graduate School of Management.

The Rev. Martin Solma, S.M., is the newly appointed provincial for the United States Province for the Society of Mary in St. Louis. He received a bachelor's degree in philosophy and English in 1971 from the University of Dayton and a master's degree in religious education in 1975 from Boston College. In 1979, he received a master of divinity degree from the University of St. Michael's College in Toronto. From 1982 to 2009, Solma ministered in eastern Africa.

"These strong leaders bring a tremendous amount of skill and experience to the University of Dayton's board of trustees," said President Daniel J. Curran. "They are exceptional individuals who will help the University continue to rise in international prominence while staying true to our mission as a Catholic, Marianist university."

The University of Dayton is a top-tier national Catholic research university and the largest private university in Ohio. Founded by the Society of Mary (Marianists) in 1850, the University of Dayton ranks among the 10 best Catholic universities in the nation.

Contact: Lynnette Heard, executive director of the president's office, at 937-229-4122