Thursday November 11, 2010

Honoring NIT Champions

The University will honor the 1962, 1968 and 2010 NIT championship teams Saturday at halftime of the men's basketball game versus Mount St. Mary's.

The University of Dayton will honor its three National Invitation Tournament Championship teams, plus the first team to make the NIT, during halftime of the Flyers' season-opening contest with Mount St. Mary’s on Saturday, Nov. 13. Tipoff is set for 2 p.m at the University of Dayton Arena.

The Flyers won the NIT in 1962, 1968 and 2010. Also, Dayton will honor the Flyers’ first NIT squad, the 1950-51 team, celebrating its 60th anniversary.

"Welcoming back our historic NIT teams will be a tremendous way to start the new year," Flyers head coach Brian Gregory said. "Our fans will be able to enjoy the excitement of the new season while also helping to pay tribute to the greats of Flyer basketball."

Less than 700 tickets remain for the Flyers’ home opener. Fans can purchase tickets online through the related link, by calling 937-229-4433, or at the University of Dayton Arena ticket office between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and three hours before the start of men's basketball games.

For more information, contact Doug Hauschild at 937-229-4390.