Tuesday December 7, 2010

In High Demand

The Indian Institute of Science named researcher Dilip Ballal its first Pratt & Whitney Distinguished Visiting Professor in Gas Turbine Engineering.

The Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore has named University of Dayton researcher Dilip Ballal its first Pratt & Whitney Distinguished Chair (Visiting) Professor in Gas Turbine Engineering.

Ballal will serve from January through late February in the department of aerospace engineering at the Institute, which is rated one of the top universities in Asia by Cybermetric Lab, the largest public research institution in Spain. As visiting professor, he will spearhead research in gas turbine engineering and help Pratt & Whitney and the Institute with research and development. His work also will foster international collaboration in gas turbine engine development.

In conjuction with his appointment, Ballal is scheduled to deliver the keynote address on gas turbine technology at the Aero India 2011 Air Show in Bangalore.

Ballal currently is Hans von Ohain Distinguished Professor in mechanical and aerospace engineering, director of the University's von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center, and division head of the University of Dayton Research Institute's energy and environmental engineering division.

Some of India's most distinguished scientists have been students or faculty at the institute, including Nobel Laureate C.V. Raman; Homi Bhabha, the founder of India's atomic energy program; and the founders of India's space program Vikram Sarabhai and Satish Dhawan.

In November, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) announced it will present Ballal with its highest international award in gas turbine technology. Ballal will be the recipient of the 2011 ASME R. Tom Sawyer Award, which goes to "an individual who has made a lifetime of scholarly contributions to advancing gas turbine technology, the gas turbine industry and the ASME's International Gas Turbine Institute."

Past winners of the R. Tom Sawyer Award include co-inventors of the jet engine, Frank Whittle and Hans von Ohain; executives at aviation giants GE Aviation, Pratt & Whitney and Rolls Royce; and scholars at Cambridge University and MIT.

Ballal, an ASME senior vice president who also is editor-in-chief of ASME’s Journal of Engineering for Gas Turbines and Power, will receive the award at the 2011 ASME International Turbo Expo June 6-10 in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Ohio Gov. Ted Strickland, in part because of Ballal's work, named the von Ohain Center an Ohio Center of Excellence in Advanced Energy. Ballal and his coworkers also helped the University land a six-year, $49.5 million grant from the U.S. Air Force to help develop clean alternative fuels from feed stocks such as coal, biomass and algae; enhance engine fuel efficiency; reduce combustion-generated emissions; and investigate the environmental impact of fossil fuels use.

For more information, contact Shawn Robinson, associate director of news and communications, at 937-229-3391 or srobinson@udayton.edu.

Related Links

Related Articles