Wednesday January 30, 2013

Winter 2013 Alumni News

Roundup of news from alumni from around the country.

Carolina Lombardi '77 is an advocacy director primarily dealing with foreclosures with Legal Services of Greater Miami, Fla. She has worked to secure equal justice for the poor and marginalized for more than 30 years.  

Terry Miller '77 was named an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in the New Year Honours List for 2013. New Year Honours is a part of the British honors system in which new members of orders of chivalry and recipients of other official honors are named. Miller led the legal team responsible for all legal aspects of the 2012 London Olympics' operations, including meeting the terms of the Host City Contract with the International Olympic Committee, implementing sponsorship and supply contracts and protecting the London 2012 brand. She will deliver the commencement address at the University of Dayton School of Law's graduation ceremony this spring.  

Tony Muto '78 and Wayne Ozzi '78 were featured in an article on, published by the Staten Island Advance. Tony and Wayne and their families got together on Staten Island, N.Y., for Thanksgiving last year. Tony is general counsel at Evans Industries in Cincinnati, and Wayne is a Court of Claims judge and acting justice on the New York State Supreme Court.

Thomas W. Anderson '79 is a partner at Anderson & Tyner, a consulting firm focused on ethics, leadership, and governance in nonprofit institutions. He is also an adjunct professor of marketing and policy studies at the Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University, where he teaches ethics in the Doctor of Management program.  

Debbie Lieberman '86 was named one of 12 most influential people in the Dayton region in 2012 by the Dayton Business Journal. She also was reelected to the Montgomery County, Ohio, Board of Commissioners in last November's general election. In addition, Debbie was honored as one of the Dayton Daily News’ 2012 Ten Top Women.   

Daniel P. Utt '86 has joined the Cincinnati law firm Keating Muething & Klekamp as a partner and leader of its real estate practice group. He has experience with a range of real estate transactions, including retail, commercial, residential and mixed-use developments; office, commercial and industrial building projects; commercial real estate transactions; and zoning and land-use planning matters. Dan is a licensed title insurance agent and is an authorized agent for Riverbend Commercial Title Agency, a wholly owned subsidiary of KMK.  

Randi J. Silverman '87 was named a Worldwide Who’s Who Professional of the Year in family law. She is founding member of the law firm Silverman, Tokarsky, Forman & Hill.   

Christopher Epley '91 (pictured above) was reappointed vice president of the Oakwood City School Board of Education at the board's January 2013 organizational meeting. He was also assigned to serve as the board's legislative liaison.  

James P. Cullen Jr. '93 has been appointed to the board of directors of Cristo Rey Philadelphia High School, a new private college preparatory school for low-income students. James is a shareholder of the Cozen O’Connor law firm and a member of the firm’s subrogation and recovery practice group. He works in the firm's Philadelphia office.  

Lara Mann '97 is the executive director of the new Lugar Academy at the University of Indianapolis (UIndy). Lara, special assistant to the university's President Robert Manuel, has led UIndy’s Lugar Center for Tomorrow's Leaders, the former name of the Lugar Academy, since its formation in 2007. Previously, she served as case law editor for the LexisNexis database, management development specialist for the Ohio School Boards Association and field investigator for the Ohio Civil Rights Commission.  

Robert W. Hojnoski '98 is the managing partner of the Cincinnati and Fort Mitchell offices of Reminger Co. LPA. He has a diverse practice primarily focused on the representation of medical and non-medical professionals and business owners in disputes involving complex and catastrophic damages. He has first chaired more than 30 jury trials and approximately 60 arbitrations and handled to conclusion about 1,000 civil lawsuits in various state and federal courts.  

Matthew Harper '99 recently moved to SNR Denton, where he is a partner in the Dallas office. He practices in the IP litigation and technology sections.   

Daniel W. Wolff '01 was elected partner at Crowell & Moring. He is a member of the environment and natural resources group and is resident in the firm’s Washington, D.C., office. His practice includes appellate and trial litigation in a number of areas of environmental and natural resources law, including mine safety and health, public lands and Superfund, as well as general litigation and administrative procedure.  

Jennifer L. Brogan '02 has been named a partner at Bieser, Greer and Landis in Dayton. Jennifer's primary areas of practice includes family law and general litigation. She has been listed in Ohio Super Lawyers, Rising Star.  

David Whaley '03 was elected partner at Dinsmore, where he is a member of the tax, benefits and wealth planning practice group in the corporate department. Working in the firm's Cincinnati office, David assists companies in all areas of employee benefits, including design, implementation and compliance in providing tax qualified and non-qualified deferred compensation arrangements, health and welfare arrangements and employee fringe benefits. He also has extensive experience in the area of employee stock ownership plans and assists employers in designing health care programs to comply with the Affordable Care Act.  

Matthew Molloy '04 was elected partner at Dinsmore, where is a member of the intellectual property prosecution and opinion practice group and works in the Dayton office. He is admitted to practice before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and has extensive experience in the preparation and prosecution of patents in the U.S. and abroad. Matt manages international patent portfolios and his practice encompasses a variety of technical areas such as chemical/chemical engineering, materials, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, mechanical engineering, software and business methods.  

Amy Wells '04 was named to the Ohio Rising Stars list for 2013 by Ohio Super Lawyers. Amy founded a boutique consumer protection litigation firm in 2010 in Centerville, Ohio. She also serves as the section chairperson for consumer rights for the Ohio Association for Justice, a plaintiff's organization dedicated to protecting the rights of the injured in Ohio.  

Michael Eshleman '08 was elected president of the Lea County Bar Association in New Mexico. Michael is an assistant public defender for the New Mexico Public Defender Department in Lea County.  

Kyle T. Geiger '09 recently joined Walker Wilcox Matousek LLP in Chicago as an associate attorney. He also was named a Rising Star by SuperLawyers Magazine.  

Andrew Longbons '09 joined Lewis Glasser Casey & Rollins as an associate in the firm's Morgantown, W.Va., office. He focuses his practice on oil and gas, real estate and coal. Previously, he practiced in Texas for a petroleum company managing and performing title review for major oil and gas acquisitions and divestitures.  

Tyler Cantrell '10 joined Young & Caldwell in West Union, Ohio.  

Stephen Schilling '10 published How to Win a Law-School Election, and Beyond: The Science of Personal Politics. He started working on the book three years ago while he was still in law school. It is available from Amazon as a paperback or an ebook. Stephen is an associate with Strauss Troy Co. in Cincinnati.

For more information, contact Lee Ann Ross at 937-229-3793 or by email.