Friday May 10, 2013

Spring 2013 Alumni News

Matthew Schrader '01 was elected president of the Central Ohio chapter of the Claims and Litigation Management Alliance. He will serve his term through July 2015. The CLM is an organization that promotes and furthers the highest standards of claims and litigation management and brings together thought leaders in both industries. Matthew is a shareholder in Reminger’s Columbus office. He focuses his practice in the areas of professional liability, commercial premises liability, claims for product liability, commercial litigation, employment law, civil rights and general casualty defense in cases involving catastrophic personal injury. Matthew has tried cases in both the state and federal courts of Ohio. He has also argued and briefed appeals in Ohio appellate courts and the Sixth Circuit.

Raymond Romero '90 was appointed to the Fifth Judicial District Court bench by New Mexico Governor Susana Martinez. Romero took office in December, filling the vacancy caused by the retirement of the Hon. J. Richard Brown. Romero served as Chief Deputy District Attorney for the Fifth Judicial District Attorney’s Office, where he had worked since 1995. He has also served as a member of the Eddy County Magistrate Court DWI/Drug Court and the Child Abuse Multidisciplinary Team of Eddy County. Romero also served on the board of the Eddy County Battered Family Shelter. He received a B.A. in Criminal Justice from the University of New Mexico. “Mr. Romero is a voice for law and order in Eddy County and he will continue to uphold the law as a member of the Fifth Judicial District Court bench,” said Governor Martinez.

Jason Miller '98 is an intellectual property partner in the Roetzel firm in Orlando, FL. Previously, Miller was counsel with Lowndes Drosdick Doster Kantor & Reed, P.A., and co-chair of that firm’s intellectual property group.

“We are delighted that Jason is joining our firm, he brings an extensive technical background that makes him a great addition to our intellectual property team,” said Thomas P. Wert, Partner-in-Charge of the Orlando office. “Our strategic focus on growth in the Florida offices continues, and we are pleased to welcome Jason to our office.”

Tami H. Kirby '04 was named to the 2013 Ohio Super Lawyers Rising Stars list. Kirby practices bankruptcy and creditor/debtor rights law with Porter Wright Morris & Arthur LLP. Super Lawyers recognizes attorneys who have distinguished themselves in their legal practice. No more than five percent of lawyers in each state are chosen for their high degree of peer recognition and professional achievement. Rising Stars are age 40 or younger or have been practicing law for 10 years or less, and represent the top up-and-coming attorneys in the state. Less than 2.5 percent of lawyers are selected for Rising Star status.

Sarah Otte Graber '97 was elected to the Wood Herron & Evans executive committee. The three-partner committee is responsible for overseeing the firm’s strategic planning and leadership, as well as overall management. In her new role, five year partner Graber joins long time partners Gregory Ahrens, whose expertise is in intellectual property litigation, and Tom Burger, whose expertise is in patent prosecution and post grant proceedings. “As a younger partner whose practice is predominately focused on trademark law, Sarah brings a diverse and balanced perspective to our Executive Committee,” said Bob Chambers, Senior Partner of the firm. 

Matthew C. Sork '93 is a principal with Pickrel Schaeffer and Ebeling Co. Sorg has been with the firm for more than five years and he has practiced law for nearly 20 years.  He spends the majority of his time offering legal services in all types of domestic relations matters., including dissolution, divorce, legal separations, custody, child support, alimony, property division, prenuptial agreements, and parental rights. Sorg also helps small businesses with formation, growth strategies, and purchasing and selling agreements. 

Charles Baldwin '83 was selected as a 2013 Client Service All-Star by the BTI Consulting Group. The BTI Client Service All-Stars are an elite group of attorneys nominated exclusively by corporate counsel in BTI’s independent study as the leaders of client service excellence. This year, BTI interviewed more than 240 corporate counsel from large and Fortune 1000 companies to probe all aspects of client relationships. Responses from those interviews found that client focus, exceptional understanding of the client’s business, outsized value, legal skills, and outstanding results were among the attributes that make for exceptional client service. Baldwin is on the board of directors of Ogletree Deakins.

Tim Nevius '06 joined Winston & Strawn in New York as a fifth year associate in the litigation department. Nevius will work primarily on sports law matters.  

Ria Farrell Schalnat ’99 recently published an article in the IPO Law Journal entitled “Will Google Break the GPL?” The article discusses the confusion surrounding open source licensing. Ria serves as Of Counsel at Dinsmore & Shohl LLP, where she specializes in patent and licensing matters related to computer technologies. Read more »

Jessi Hill '10 joined Stites & Harbison PLLC in the firm's new Northern Kentucky office.

Daniel J. Herling '79 joined Mintz Levin as a member at the firm's San Francisco office.

David H. Lefton '87 has been appointed to the Ohio State Bar Foundation (OSBF) Membership Committee. OSBF members are exceptional lawyers who have demonstrated their dedication to the highest ideals of the legal profession and the welfare of their community.  In addition, Lefton has been appointed to the Ohio State Bar Association Council of Delegates Screening Committee, which, among other duties, considers legislative proposals from OSBA committees.

On May 1, 2013, four UDSL graduates were honored at the Chancery Club of Dayton's annual law day celebration for their excellent work and service to the legal profession. Receiving awards were Lucas Wilder '01 for his work as appointed counsel in the common pleas court general division for felony cases; Michael E. Deffet, '90 for his work in the juvenile courts division; Jennifer S. Getty, '01 for her work in the domestic relations area; and Mark Landers, '81 for his work as a mediator in the common pleas court general division.

Chris Epley '99 received the Mary Clark Spirit of Adoption Award given by Catholic Social Services of the Miami Valley at its Annual Leadership Luncheon held on April 18, 2013. Chris serves at the adoption attorney for CSS and works to secure stable permanent placements for children.

Jack Malley '91 has written a book, "Meet The Lunatics Who Run Your Kids' Sports Leagues, A Coach Dad's Take On The Wacky World Of Youth Sports."

The Dayton Business Journal's most recent class of "40 under 40" outstanding local professionals included five UDSL alumni: Erin Rhinehart '04 (Faruki), Glen McMurry '07 (Dungan & LeFevre), Tabitha Justice '02 (Subashi), Terry Posey '04 (Thompson Hine) and Tyler Starline '04 (Finlay, Johnson & Beard).

In Memoriam

Remembering Brian C. Petroziello '77, who passed away Monday, March 25, 2013.

For more information, contact Lee Ann Ross at 937-229-3793 or by email.