Monday August 26, 2013

New Leadership

The University of Dayton has named five new trustees and tapped alumnus Steven Cobb, chairman and CEO of Henny Penny, as chair.

The University of Dayton has named alumnus Steven Cobb, chairman and chief executive officer of Henny Penny Corp., as chair of its board of trustees and tapped five other leaders in business, law, finance, medicine and education as new trustees.

Cobb, a trustee since 2007, assumes leadership of the board for a three-year term. Prior to receiving an MBA from the University of Dayton in 1986, he earned a bachelor's degree in industrial and labor relations from Bowling Green State University in 1982. He succeeds Allen M. Hill, retired president and CEO of the Dayton Power & Light Co.

New trustees include:

• Annette M. Chavez, M.D., who specializes in family medicine at Carillon Family Practice in Kettering, Ohio. She holds a B.S. in biology from the University of Dayton (1981) and a medical degree from The Ohio State University College of Medicine (1985). Her community service is extensive, particularly in Honduras and Panama, where she has participated in medical mission trips with University of Dayton premed students. Since 2008, she has volunteered her medical services at the Reach-Out Clinic for the uninsured.

• Brother Thomas F. Giardino, S.M., executive director of the Association of Marianist Universities. For 10 years, he lived in Rome, where he was general assistant for education for the Society of Mary. In that capacity, he served more than 135 educational institutions in 38 counties. He holds a B.A. in theology and a B.S. in education from the University of Dayton (1965), an M.A. in sociology from Duquesne University (1971), a certification in pastoral counseling from Pittsburgh Theological Seminary (1973) and an M.A. in religious studies from The Catholic University of America (1979).

• Thomas A. Holton, an attorney at Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur law firm in Dayton, Ohio. For the past decade, he's been listed in The Best Lawyers in America in the area of corporate law. He's also been recognized by Ohio Super Lawyers. He received a bachelor's degree in business administration from The Ohio State University in 1964 and a J.D. from the University of Detroit School of Law in 1967.

• Joe Spadaford, executive vice president/chief operations strategy officer and president of Georgeson Securities Corp. at Computershare in Jersey City, N.J.  Former president of the University of Dayton's National Alumni Association, he holds a B.S. in accounting from the University of Dayton (1969) and an MBA from Adelphi University in banking and financial markets (1976).

• Thomas W. Swidarski, former chief executive officer and president of Diebold, Inc., the largest U.S. manufacturer of ATMs with 16,000 employees in 100 countries.  He holds a bachelor's degree in marketing from the University of Dayton (1980) and an MBA from Cleveland State University (1983).

"We are so pleased with the caliber and experience of these new leaders on the University of Dayton's board of trustees," said President Daniel J. Curran. "They will help guide the University of Dayton as we educate the next generation of servant-leaders in the Catholic, Marianist tradition."

The University of Dayton is a top-tier national Catholic research university and the largest private university in Ohio. It was founded by the Society of Mary (Marianists) in 1850.

For more information, contact Teri Rizvi at 937-229-3255 or