Policy on Parking Citation Appeals

    Download a PDF version of the Policy on Parking Citation Appeals (.pdf) >>


    The Parking Citation Appeals Board is a subcommittee of the Parking Committee that serves as a mediator between Parking Services and individuals who dispute citations which have been issued by Parking Services.  The Parking Appeals Committee, consisting of faculty, staff, and students, has been established to ensure fairness and equality of treatment.


    Employees, students and visitors to University of Dayton.

    Policy History

    Effective Date: ;

    Approval: , University President;

    Policy History: 

    Approved in its original form: January 10, 1994;

    Approved as amended January 3, 1996;

    Approved as Amended September 5, 2000

    Maintenance of Policy: Department of Public Safety


    Citation Appeals Board

    This policy provides for the creation of the Citation Appeals Board comprised of voting members of the faculty, staff, and student body, which has authority to review and adjudicate all appeals for parking and traffic violations.

    A parking violation may be appealed through the Citation Appeals Board within the required time from date of issuance of the citation. Forms for appeal are available at Parking Services, the visitor centers, and on-line at  For information on how to file an appeal, see Appendix B to this policy: Appeal Procedures.

    Citations must be paid before an appeal is accepted. Fines will double if not paid within 14 days after issuance of the citation.

    Individuals holding a valid permit to park in the area in which they were cited should contact Parking Services before submitting an appeal.

    Reference Documents

    1. Parking Citation Appeals Form

    Appendix A: Citation Appeals Board

    A. Membership. The board shall consist of the following members:

    1. Two faculty representatives,
    2. Two staff representatives,
    3. Two students, and
    4. One non-voting member from Parking Services. 

    B. A quorum shall consist of three voting members of the board.

    C. Members of the board are appointed by the Parking Committee.

    D. The term served by members of the board begins each September and lasts three years for faculty and staff members, and one year for students. Members may be reappointed to serve successive terms.

    E. A chairperson will be chosen at the first meeting each year by a majority vote of the members of the board present. The chairperson will vote only in case of a tie.