University Assessment Committee (UAC)

Members: 2018-19 Academic Year

Deborah Bickford (chair) - Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Learning Initiatives and Director, Ryan C. Harris Learning Teaching Center
Jon Hess - Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Nadine Hylton, Director, Student Development Assessment and Planning
Fred Jenkins - Associate Dean, University Libraries
Justin Keen - Director, Assessment and Student Centered Analytics
Judy Owen, Coordinator, Common Academic Program
Michelle Pautz - Assistant Provost, Common Academic Program
Lori Shaw - Associate Dean, School of Law
Randy Sparks - Associate Dean, School of Business Administration
Bob Wilkens - Associate Dean, School of Engineering
Pam Young - Director of Accreditation, School of Education and Health Sciences


Under authority of the provost, the University Assessment Committee (UAC) oversees the student learning assessment process at the University of Dayton. The UAC is a community of learners that supports the development of assessment leaders who are able to help their units develop capacity for assessment and, importantly, assist their units in infusing assessment into their decision-making practices. The committee facilitates the sharing of assessment practices and results between units to support a systems-level approach to student learning improvement. The UAC is responsible for fostering an assessment culture on campus that is focused on continuous improvement. UAC members are responsible for orchestrating assessment activities for their units and act as resources for unit departments and programs conducting assessment activities. They assist with the development and measurement of goals, and the interpretation of results from the measurements. The UAC writes an annual "State of Student Learning" report and then relays the information to the Provost and the University community.


Monthly during the academic year

Membership Composition

The UAC is chaired by the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Learning Initiatives. Membership is comprised of unit assessment representatives, often unit Associate Deans charged with assessment; the Director of Assessment and Student Centered Analytics; Director of Student Development Assessment and Planning; Assistant Provost for the Common Academic Program; and Coordinator for the Common Academic Program.

Related Links

Contact Us

Deborah J. Bickford, Ph.D. Associate Provost for Academic Affairs & Learning Initiatives

300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1302