Alpha Kappa Psi

Alpha Kappa Psi is recognized as the world's premier developer of principled business leaders. By learning and applying various business skills Brothers of Alpha Kappa Psi work to improve their community and develop practical skills to be used in the real business world. Through service, social, and professional events, these skills are improved along with the help of an extensive network of alumni, and we are always looking for eager students with an interest in the business world.

Our Mission

Alpha Kappa Psi at the University of Dayton strives to create Principled Business Leaders through service, brotherhood, and social interaction within the Dayton Community.


In January of 2010, Alpha Kappa Psi Expansion Coordinator Tana Dippilito came to Dayton in hopes of finding interested students to create an Alpha Kappa Psi colony on campus. This was strongly supported by alumni of the Delta Nu chapter which had existed at Dayton approximately 20 years prior. On January 25th 2010 the first induction ceremony was held and eight colonists were inducted. As the semester progressed the colony continued to recruit new members and elected six executive officers: Alan Berning as President, Tricia Lammers as VP of Administration, Megan as VP of Membership, Liz Ranz as Treasurer, Laura Schulz as Secretary, and Brendan Fowler as VP of Alumni Relations.  The colony held various events such as a bowling night with the Delta Nu alumni, conducting a business panel for the university’s introduction to business class, and participating in the university’s Relay for Life. The colony was unable to become a chapter by the end of the semester but left for the summer willing to take on the challenges of being installed as a chapter in the upcoming year.

Upon returning for the fall 2010 semester the Dayton colony faced challenges from the start as some members chose not to return to the colony, most notably the acting President of the colony.  Tricia Lammers stepped into the President role in order to continue the goal of becoming a chapter. The colony continued to recruit new members and hold events such as a cookout for interested students, participate in a trunk or treat for children in the Dayton area, as well as hold a leadership retreat for the colony, led my sectional director Greg Patterson, in order to build cohesion and leadership within the colony.  The day following the retreat (October 25th) officer elections were held resulting in Matt Knutson being elected as President, Tricia Lammers as VP of Administration, Brent Parres as VP of Membership, Emily Demczar as Secretary, Beth Eckstein as VP of Finance, Brendan Fowler as VP of Alumni Relations, and Matt Deininger as Historian. The following week 33 new colonists were inducted, resulting in a total of 60 colonists.  In response to the increase in numbers committees were formed, resulting in a committee for professional events, service events, social events, fundraising, marketing, and Instillation Ceremony preparation.

The colony was formally initiated as an AKPsi Fraternity on Saturday January 29th, 2011. With the help of every brother, the Delta Nu chapter is starting a new and bright chapter of Alpha Kappa Psi at the University of Dayton.


    2012-2013 Officers

    Mary Meg Gerbich

    Executive Vice President
    Abby Schwartz

    Vice President of Membership
    Patrick Fennessy

    Jessie Regula

    Vice President of Finance
    Danielle Mitchell

    Master of Rituals
    Justin Gregory

    Kirsten Grauso

    VP of Alumni Relations
    Mike Lamorgese

    Kevin Stevens

    Olivia Binkowski