Global Encounters


The Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in sociology, as well as minors in sociology, anthropology, and social work. The minors are designed to fit well with our major, and can also be combined with any other major at UD. We are a faculty of twelve sociologists, two social workers, and three anthropologists who share a passion for teaching, research, and supporting student success. The department partners with local community agencies as a site for examining various issues and concepts studied in classes. Students majoring in Sociology have the opportunity to conduct their own research as part of their Senior Project capstone experience, and many juniors and seniors are placed in local agencies and organizations for internships that provide useful, firsthand experiences.

Roesch Chair in the Social Sciences

The University of Dayton has appointed sociology professor Leslie Picca as the Raymond A. Roesch, S.M., Chair in the Social Sciences. Currently, Picca is chair of the Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work. She joined the University faculty in 2005.

Read More

In the News

Lending a Hand Back Home

University of Dayton senior Alondra Roman had difficulty reaching her family in Puerto Rico after the disaster of Hurricane Maria in September. She heard they survived the storm, but was unable to communicate with them until they could reach a phone. In the weeks that followed, Roman and other students from Puerto Rico organized a campus effort for students, faculty and staff to donate supplies to Puerto Rico Hurricane Relief.

Read More

Related Links

Find Us.

Department of Sociology

St. Joseph Hall 429 
300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1442