Endowed Chairs

Our endowed chairs and professorships are filled for specific terms by faculty who are recognized for their teaching and research. These positions support both the undergraduate experience and graduate programs, in addition to the research mission of the College. For undergraduates, these dedicated faculty support integrated learning and scholarship in order to enrich the curriculum and promote undergraduate research.

On the graduate level, several of the endowed chairs support the doctoral program in theology with its distinctive research focus on Catholicism as it is inculturated in multiple ways in the United States.

Alumni Chair in Humanities

Julius A. Amin, Ph.D.

The Alumni Chair recognizes the centrality of the humanities to liberal learning and works to encourage scholarly enrichment.

St Joseph Hall

Fr. Ferree Professor of Social Justice

Bro. Raymond L. Fitz, S.M., Ph.D.

The Ferree Professor connects Catholic social teaching and the social sciences through the community-building mission of the Fitz Center. 

Music French Horns

Graul Chair in Arts and Languages

Sharon Gratto, D.M.A.

The Graul Chair promotes interdisciplinary approaches to the arts and languages with a particular focus on international perspectives.

Chapel at night

Gudorf Chair in Catholic Theology and Culture

Vincent J. Miller, Ph.D.

The Gudorf Chair plays a central role in the advancement of the doctoral program in theology offered by the Department of Religious Studies. 


Brother Leonard A. Mann, S.M. Chair in the Sciences

Shawn Swavey, Ph.D.

The Mann Chair in the Sciences recognizes outstanding accomplishments and contributions, with an emphasis on scholarship in the sciences. 


Mary Ann Spearin Chair in Catholic Theology

William L. Portier, Ph.D.

The Mary Ann Spearin Chair in Catholic Theology recognizes a distinguished scholar who has made significant contributions to theological explorations related to U.S. Catholicism. 

Front of St. Joseph Hall

Roesch Chair in the Social Sciences

Roger Reeb, Ph.D.

The Roesch chair encourages innovative and interdisciplinary teaching and scholarship in the social sciences. 

Schuellein Chair in Biological Sciences

Carissa Krane, Ph.D.

The Schuellein Chair in Biological Sciences recognizes outstanding scholarship in the biological sciences.

Fr. Chaminade

University Professor of Faith and Culture

Currently vacant

The University Professor of Faith and Culture strives to deepen the academic and intellectual discourse on campus concerning Catholic culture and intellectual traditions.